Macbook Pro 13 2012 June model - Ram upgradew

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by drtanz, Sep 27, 2012.

  1. drtanz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
  2. tiwizard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #2
  3. drtanz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #3
    So both are compatible, even though Macs are supposed to support only 8GB?
     
  4. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #4
    It will take 16GB.
     
  5. tiwizard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #5
    With the 2012 Macbook Pro, yes. Just to be really sure, you can always look through the reviews and check and see if anyone mentions a Macbook Pro. I looked through the KomputerBay one and everyone seems to say that it works great with the 2011 MBP, which means it'll work with yours as well.
     
  6. drtanz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
  8. drtanz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #8
    Thanks for pointing that out, cancelled my order, searching for 1600mhz one now
     
  9. tiwizard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #9
    There isn't a huge difference unless you overclock you system, which you can't anyways. The difference would end up being ~2% on a desktop PC with a fast processor. Not worth the extra money IMHO, unless you can find 1600MHz for the same price.
     
  10. tiwizard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #11
  11. drtanz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #12
    Ok, since the 1600 ones are 1.5v and my mac runs at 1.35v will that cause any damage?
     
  12. tiwizard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #13
    Nope, it shouldn't. The KomputerBay RAM is designed for Macbook Pro computers anyways.
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    No, it'll be fine.
     
  14. drtanz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    #15
    Thanks, turns out the KomputerBay Apple ones cant be shipped to my location, but found another listing that seems to be the same, just without the Apple sticker, can you confirm its the same?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay-PC3-12800-1600MHz-204-Pin-10-10-10-27/dp/B007Q2JQNW/ref=lh_ni_t

    If that one is the same and good, the choice would be between it and the 1333Mhz version

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Komputerbay...8WP50/ref=cm_srch_res_rtr_3?tag=5336090759-21

    For less than 10GBP, and given that the 1.5v does not do any damage, and 1600 is always preferable than 1333Mhz, I would go for the first one.
     
  15. tiwizard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #16
    Yeah, either's fine. You can always check the reviews to see what people are posting (ie. "Works great in my 2011 MBP") to find out compatibility
     
  16. afinch1992 macrumors 6502

    afinch1992

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #17
    is it true that you can technically go up to 32gb on a 2012 MBP?
     
  17. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #18
    On paper yes. But to my knowledge there's no 16GB sticks currently on the market to try it out with. Even if there was, they'd be pretty expensive.
     
  18. afinch1992 macrumors 6502

    afinch1992

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #19
    ok, I was just wondering since there seemed to be some conflicting answers when I looked it up more.
     
  19. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #20
    It'll take 16GB with no problems, in fact, once 16GB SO-DIMMs hit the market, it'll take 32 as the chipset supports it.
     
  20. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #21
    32GB RAM is crazy.

    I guess there are some out there with a need for it though.
     
  21. clyde2801 macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #22
    With God as my witness, I will never close another tab ever again!
     

Share This Page