Macbook Pro 13 2014 and 4k Display - Lag

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by uniqe15, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. uniqe15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    #1
    Hello everyone, I own macbook pro 13 2014 and recently i bought dell P2715Q and my mac performance dropped significantly, everything lags is it possible to somehow accelerate GPU through some device?
     
  2. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #2
    I've just about purchased that same monitor for my late 2013 13" rMBP. Only reason I haven't is because the 2013/14 models with the Iris 5100 will only run a monitor in 4K at 30 Hz instead of 60 Hz like we're used to. So it is running at a lower frame-rate basically. Thus why it feels laggy. That and It's pushing 8 million pixels where a standard 1080p display is about 2 million. So it's stressing it a lot more.

    To see what I mean try running it at 1920*1080 or 2560x1440 non-scaled and it should run at 60Hz, then switch to 4K and it will run at 30Hz. The difference should be rather noticeable.
     
  3. uniqe15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    #3
    I don't mind 30 Hz, now i know that there's nothing to be done, but is there a way to accelearete 2nd display? maby eGPU could help?
     
  4. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #4
    An eGPU would do it but the cost of just a PCIe enclosure such as the Sonnet ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...e enclosure&qid=1444734276&ref_=sr_1_1&sr=8-1 )is $900 without a video card in it!!!!
    I have seen a thread here where users got 52Hz though using minidisplay port and switchresX. do a search for it.
     
  5. uniqe15, Oct 13, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2015

    uniqe15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    #5
    Is there any cheaper and easier to setup solution?
    It would be great to get more than 30 Hz but my first priority is to get smooth experience

    Or maby is it possible to get hdpi full HD scaled down not from 3840x2160 but from 2564x1440?
     
  6. uniqe15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
  7. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #7
    It's already running scaled or everything would be microscopic.....

    If you use switch res x and run @52Hz it should be a lot better do a forum search here and there is a thread somewhere to get this to work you'll need a mini DP1.2 to HDMI 2 or DP1.2 cable, depending on your monitor inputs, to run from your thunderbolt port to the monitor as well.

    It's try that or sell what you have and get the 2015 version with the IRIS 6100 which works well with 4K by all reports.
     

Share This Page