Macbook Pro 13" and CS5

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by vince217, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. vince217 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm looking towards upgrading my wife's 2008 13" Macbook with a newer model, specifically one that can handle Adobe Photoshop CS5 with no problems.

    She likes to edit photos and add layers / textures to them. She does not do 3d graphics or heavy video editing.

    I'm currently looking at the base Macbook Pro 13". Will this be sufficient, or should I go for the 15" with the quad core and dedicated graphics card? Screen size is not an issue since she already works with a 13" screen and just plan on buying an external monitor if she wants to work with a bigger screen, so its really the internals I'm concerned with.

    thanks in advance for any replies! :)
     
  2. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    It might just need more RAM. I've got a 2009 Aluminum MacBook I use Photoshop CS5 (as well as Aperture and iMovie...) which runs just fine. I've got 8GB of RAM. Yours might be upgradable to 6.

    A new Macbook Pro 13" would certainly have no problems, with sufficient memory. I don't think the graphics processor matters with Photoshop (it does with Aperture).
     
  3. george315 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #3
    Yeah, it will be sufficient. I'm using a Core i5 Macbook Pro 13inch (Early 2011), and photoshop cs5 works great.
     
  4. danahn17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #4
    Agreed! I have 6GB in my 2009 (2.26Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo) 13" MBP and run Photoshop CS5 on it all the time. For the most part, I have no problems editing my RAW photos, running actions, etc. :)

    A new computer though should run fine (though again, more RAM would always help)!
     
  5. jeremyshaw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    #5
    The GPU barely matters much in Photoshop, technically, the GPU memory amount counts more than GPU power.
     
  6. atticus27 macrumors regular

    atticus27

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    I use a core 2 duo 13" pro w/ Cs5 and final cut pro x run smooth. Max out the ram that made a big difference for me.
     
  7. rebby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #7
    I run CS5 on my MBA and it works just fine. Sure, I don't do any huge edits on it but for 80% of my workflow, the MBA gets the job done w/out any problems.

    Max out the RAM and maybe even add an SSD to your existing MBP and you should be just fine.
     
  8. vince217 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    #8
    thanks for all the replies!

    based on the advice, i will see how much memory i can add to the current Macbook (it is not a Pro, it is the white polycarbonate one), and use a trial version of Photoshop CS5 to see how it runs (my wife currently uses Lightroom with no problems).

    if that doesn't work out, ill probably get a refurbised 13" Macbook Pro (feb 11 release, $929++ from Apple store), then max it out with 8gb RAM.
     
  9. rebby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #9
    Fixed it for you. :D 16GB can easily be obtained for <$150 now.
     

Share This Page