Macbook Pro, 13" base model enough?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chkenwing, Jan 27, 2010.

1. chkenwing macrumors regular

So as like many of us here, disappointed at the fact that there was no news on any MBP updates so I'm sat here wondering whether I should just bite the bullet and purchase a current gen MBP (despite the fact that the hardware currently is years old behind the PC counter parts).

Anyway, I was looking into getting a base model 13" MBP but I've been doing a lot of lurking/reading on these forums and it seems many people see that it is not powerful enough?

I have also seen a trend that many people are going for the 2.53ghz as opposed to the 2.26ghz one.

Is the speed difference between the two that much different? Or would it really be unnoticeable if I got the 2.26ghz and bumped the RAM to 4GB? Is it really worth the extra £150-£200 on top? (I'm a Uni student so I get Edu discount)

Bare in mind, my usage of the MBP will be:

General use - internet browsing, some document work, youtubing, videos and music.

Specific use would be - video editing (nothing major, mostly amatuer videos for youtube and the like), music editing, photo-editing (lightroom, photoshop), and probably dual-booting with WinXP/7 for my other needs such as 3DSMax (again, nothing HUGE to render, more of a hobby)

2. Surely Guest

Surely

You'll be fine with the 2.26. I love it.....

That's what I have (including the 4 GB of RAM), and I use my MBP for pretty much the same stuff as you (I don't use Windows).

3. Frankie. macrumors regular

I have the 2.26 with 2GB of memory. It runs games, and all the software you listed perfectly without any issues. Although, I would recommend 4 GIGs of memory if you plan to use Fusion or Parallel Desktop. Windows 7 64-bit runs smoothly in bootcamp but Fusion and Parallel it lags.

4. Paul B macrumors 6502

It'll be more than enough.