Macbook Pro 13" i5 or i7?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ChevyHD, Jun 12, 2012.

1. ChevyHD macrumors newbie

Alright here's my predicament. Since no new iMac came out after doing some thinking I came to the conclusion it would be nice to have my first mac be portable so I could go with the MB pro and then get a refurb. thunderbolt 27" display. With the educational discounts and tax it comes out to around $2150. Not too bad. That's for the i5 though. I'm a photographer so i'll be mostly in photoshop and lightroom. Besides that just your regular web browsing and things of that nature.

Now would that i5 serve me well and be nice and fast? Or is the i7 really worth the extra few hundred dollars because it makes such a difference? I'm trying to keep costs as low as possible while still getting a good setup for what I want. Will I notice a difference between the two working in CS5? I'm currently on a year old toshiba laptop with a 2.3ghz i5 and a ****** graphics card. I really like the apple display and the OS better than windows and think it's time for an upgrade. Thank you all for the help.

2. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

mohsy90

i7 is not worth it. If your getting the 13" MBP. Just buy the basic model and upgrade the Ram yourself and buy a third party SSD. You'll notice a drastic difference in speed. Update the Ram to 8gb and get a 256 SSD. It should still come out to less than the i7 13" MBP. The processor upgrade is not worth it, trust me.

And if you want, you can save another $100 on the thunderbolt display and even more on the RAM and SSD if you buy it from eBay.

3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

Seconded

You will not see a difference in speed in most usage cases. I just picked up the base 13 as well. In fact, the i5 in this machine outpaces the older i7's that I have for a work machine (2010 15in mbp 2.67 i7) :)

I would save the 300-400 bucks and upgrade to at least 8 gig of ram and a ssd