macbook pro 13 inch is a dirt magnet!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Srirama, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. Srirama macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Chennai
    #1
    I have to clean my mac literally every 3 days,the screen,keyboard everything.
    I just dont understand whats attracting the dirt,I mean I have another laptop in the same room and it get used for the same amount of time.It does not attract so much dirt.

    I just dont understand whats wrong. :confused:
    I dont use my computers with dirty hands or anything like that.

    Is there some static thats attracting all the dust.I mean there's a coating of a uniform layer of dust.
    Just puzzling.
     
  2. Frankie4Fingers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #2
    Perhaps the fans are drawing excess dust in the vicinity of the mac?

    Maybe you're more OCD about your mac than the other computer?

    Clean your house?
     
  3. Srirama thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Chennai
    #3
    The house is clean man.
    The fans seem ok too.
    The thing is another macbook air in the same room which does not accumulate dust,they are within 3 feet of each other.
    So no contrastingly different environments or anything like that.
    But the macbook pro definitely gives off static(the weird feeling on the aluminum when its plugged in).The other macbook air accumulates virtually no dust.
     
  4. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #4
    That's weird. I live in a house with a dog and three cats, so if my MBP had a lot of static electricity there would constantly be fur stuck to it. I find a stray cat hair on the screen or keyboard once in a while, but that's about it.
     
  5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #5
    well not sure about the air put my pro gives off electric shocks pretty often so that electric charge would attrack dust
     
  6. Srirama thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Chennai
    #6
    Damn right its weird.
    Can there be so much static?
    I just dont get it.I clean it and all the dust is back in 3 days.
    The MBA seems unaffected.
     
  7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #7
    yes there is a lot of static, i get a shock almost everytime i touch the edge of my MBP
     
  8. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Putting out the fire with gasoline...
    #8
    Are you using the extension cord on one, i.e. one machine may be grounded and the other not, the standard power adapter is not grounded unless you use the extension cord. This may account for the static and the dust.
     
  9. Mojo1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #9
    Something isn't right; you shouldn't be getting shocked when you touch the MBP...

    I use the same MBP in an office that I share with my cat. It's as clean as a whistle.
     
  10. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #10
    are you using the 3 prong, extension plug?
     
  11. onions macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #11
    are you in the blast zone of a vent? maybe your hvac air filters need to be cleaned.
     
  12. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  13. theipadkid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
  14. Mojo1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #14
    I am using the Apple AC adapter connected to a grounded circuit in my home office. The AC in the other parts of my 1950s-era house are not grounded.

    If your outlets are not grounded (two-prong) or improperly grounded it doesn't matter if you use a three-prong plug, the line won't be grounded. UPS units won't work properly either...
     
  15. xctheexperiencee macrumors newbie

    xctheexperiencee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Location:
    Chicago, IL | Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    I have the same problem with my MacBook Pro "Touch Bar Version" I would say its because of the stainless Steele body that wraps the MacBook but most of them are wrapped in stainless Steele.......I think sometime it depends on the environment has nothing to do with the house being dirty. just the room temp. ive noticed on a warmer day its harder to keep it clean vs a cooler day but again this is just my observation...also since the display of the MacBook Pro vs the air is also more enhanced the screen warms up faster and alot more often to give you that vibrant look and attracts dust, or moisture in the air that gives these tiny "rain spots" on your screen as far as keyboard you can have hands cleaner than a doctors hands the keys will still attract oil from your fingers its impossible to avoid that its just a human thing as far as the outer body portion "when the laptop is closed" that comes from picking it up and grabbing it even with clean hands unless you are using latex gloves every time its bound to be some smudges on there
     
  16. BigMcGuire Contributor

    BigMcGuire

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #16
    I have a MBP 13' TB 2017. The thing does attract dust but no more than my MBA 11' 2015 did. I keep a can of air around especially for the keyboard failure reason.

    I too have noticed the non-grounded charger creating a different feel on the body of the MBP - never had that problem with the Air because the Air had the 3 prong charger.

    My screen is near perfect but I've never had a problem with my Mac's screens because I never touch them.

    My hands are very dry and grease free so I don't have a big problem with glossy keys - but I make sure to wipe them down if I see anything.

    I bought these for my MBP and my wife's MBP. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0050R67U0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 - works really well even for my glasses, lol.
     

Share This Page