Macbook Pro 13 inch VS. ipad 2 wifi

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by makris0000, Jul 20, 2011.

1. makris0000, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

makris0000 macrumors member

Hi this is my first post. I am a college student and i need a new mac or ipad. I use my current macbook to take notes, look things up, etc for school and some gaming on my off time. I do not know if i should get an ipad 2 wifi or the macbook pro 13 inch for school. Please help me

2. Man9z0r macrumors regular

Man9z0r

I would first have to start this by asking the question what kind of stuff would you do at school with it? I know that sounds like a silly question but it explains a lot. If you are just planning on notes and little things like that I would say the iPad is great.

Although I don't think I would recommend it if you are planning on doing papers, PowerPoint stuff and things of that nature. The MBP in my opinion would be a lot better option because of the ease of use and full desktop. I mean it could be done with an iPad I just think it would be a pain.

I personally have both and use them for school. I love the iPad with a stylus for taking notes and the such. Although I think I would have my productivity slowed down a lot if that was all I had.

I hope this helps you out! :D

3. MooseBlood macrumors member

I'm in agreement with Man9z0r. As somebody who owns a couple of Macbooks, a fully tricked out iPad (original version, 64 gig with 3G), and a couple of iPhones (3Gs and 4G) then I can see how this is a bit of a dilemma, but the Macbook is the easy and correct answer for a student.