Macbook Pro 13" Late 2008 Uni RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Commy1, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. Commy1, Feb 25, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013

    Commy1 macrumors 6502a

    Commy1

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #1
    Hey guys, so I know what Apple says about how much RAM can go into this particular MBPro (4GB) but I wanted to know from someone who might have already experimented.
    I purchased a stick of 4GB 1067mhz from Corsair to upgrade, it went off without a hitch so now I'm running with 5GB. BUT I want to put in more, I've heard that it's capable of taking 6GB maybe, what I want though is 8GB, is it possible?

    I don't want to order another stick and have to go through the trouble of returns and BS. Lop siding the RAM the way I've done hurts performance as I understand it and I want to fix that.

    Edit: Not a Macbook Pro, MacBOOK
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    With a firmware update, that machine can use up to 8GB of ram.
     
  3. GGJstudios, Feb 25, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013

    GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    There's no such thing as a Late 2008 MBP 13". The 13" MBP was introduced in Mid 2009. If you have a Late 2008 13" unibody, it's an aluminum MacBook, which takes up to 8GB of RAM. You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  4. Commy1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Commy1

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #4
    http://support.apple.com/kb/sp500
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    As I said, it's not a MacBook Pro. It's a MacBook.

     
  6. Commy1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Commy1

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #6
    Alright, you win it's a Macbook. You never did answer my question though. I appreciate that good Sir Intell up there for the answer.

    ----------

    Can you elaborate on the firmware update required? Do you mean the OS? I'm running 10.8.2 at the moment.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Go back and re-read my first post. I did answer your question, and the links I posted answer it, as well.
    Again, the links I posted answer your questions, if you take the time to read them:
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    It's an EFI update: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL974
     
  9. Commy1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Commy1

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #9
    Alright cool, so I just tried to install it and it said I didn't need it, so I suppose I'm up to date and good to go with 8GB.

    Thanks for the help
     

Share This Page