Macbook pro 13 or 15 for CAD- Solidworks

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by awca22, Jul 20, 2010.

1. awca22 macrumors newbie

Hello im a college student in my second year and i would like to know if a MBP 13 will be ok to use Solidworks, Autocad, MATLAB or I will be needing the extra screen real state... this is going to be my main computer for 4-5 Years... hoping it will works for that long time
    If it is a 13 I will be buying the 2.66 model
    and if it is the 15 I will be buying the i5 2.4 model..

not so sure of what to do :S
    :confused:

2. Mac7 macrumors 6502a

Mac7

Go for the 15". Screen will be essential for CAD.

3. Pentad macrumors 6502a

Pentad

15" for sure.

Solid Works is a nice CAD package. The 15" will do much better for OpenGL in SW...not to mention the screen real-estate space.

4. awca22 thread starter macrumors newbie

the...

the only bad thing is that im having monetary issues! hahahaha
    and im in a real need of getting a new laptop do you know where can i get new macbook pro 15..

5. RT2020 macrumors regular

15 inch is advisable if you are going into a design field. Screen size and productivity are related.

If money is tight, you might want to consider Windows options as well, given that some of the software you will be using will be Windows only anyway.

6. Frosties macrumors 6502a

Frosties

One fell off the back of a truck, special price for you...

7. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

Get a windows machine.

I used saladworks on my 15" macbook pro and it worked .

But it was a major pain.

•Starting my boot camp (windows) partition in OS X via VMWare would trigger Saladwork's crap licensing mechanisms and call me a pirate.
    • I couldn't get my Apple branded wireless keyboard and mice to work with Windows and OS X at the same time (had to use a seperate keyboard and mice set).
    •Have to buy/procure a windows license. Was cheap for me, may not be for others.