Macbook Pro 13 or 15

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sdahe, Jan 18, 2019.

1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

Sdahe

Hello Everyone,

Im gonna be buying a new Macbook Pro and Im in the dilemma between the 13" and the 15" Macbook Pro. I work as a graphic artist and I use Photoshop, Illustrator and 80% of the time Indesign. I don't do video editing but I could use iMovie from time to time for very simple video editing for my clients. Which one would you guys suggest?..

Thanks

2. Cashmonee macrumors 65816

Cashmonee

I just went through this and stuck with the 13". I do basic things like word, excel, email, etc mostly with Lightroom CC for hobbyist photography thrown in. The 13" has no issues with any of that and offers the amount of portability and lapability that I wanted. With a 27" external monitor I have found it to be just about perfect for my needs.

The 15" was tempting because it was more powerful for similar money to the 13" I bought. In the end I did not need the power and thought the 15" would be too large for at school, in a coffee shop, or on the couch at home.

3. dbrothers macrumors newbie

If your profession is art, I’d strongly recommend the 15 inch. There’s just no substitute for screen real estate.

As a system architect and programmer, I was bummed when Apple dropped their 17 inch models and I had to make do with a 15 inch. Turned out I could configure the smaller unit to the same resolution I had used on the larger units, my eyesight is exceptional for my age, and life was good.

4. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

Sdahe

I would love to read the opinion from another graphic artist

5. Cashmonee macrumors 65816

Cashmonee

I do agree with this. If you are working on graphic art often on the go, then I would really think about the 15" for the screen real estate. Especially if you are ok with the size of the 15". Really, if size is no real concern, then I would say the 15" is the way to go.

6. dbrothers macrumors newbie