Price Advice Macbook Pro 13" Retina

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by tempest-tost, Apr 4, 2016.

1. tempest-tost, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016

tempest-tost macrumors newbie

tempest-tost

Hey everyone! Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I am finally switching from a PC to a Mac and am hoping you all may be able to provide a bit of guidance.

I am interested in the Macbook Pro 13" Retina with 128 GB Storage. I have two questions that I'd be so grateful for some feedback on:

1. Because of price and what I will use it for, I have no desire to wait for an updated (likely more expensive) Macbook Pro model this summer, however; many people have said to wait anyway because the older models will become a lot cheaper. How much of a price drop is likely to happen?

2. Is the Retina really worth the extra money over the basic Macbook Pro model?

Again, thank you for reading this over. I am new to the Mac world.

2. MRrainer macrumors 6502a

The non-retina uses components released in 2012.
    And because they weren't high-end components to begin with, it's not really a good choice these days.
    There will be clearance-sales of the older MBPs once a new one comes out.
    But I don't expect anything earth-shattering, substantially above the rebates that are currently available in the usual places.
    128GB is enough storage for you?

3. tempest-tost, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016

tempest-tost thread starter macrumors newbie

tempest-tost

Thanks for your response, MRrainer.

So, it seems like Retina is the way to go. I work in education and have seen that Apple will give about $100 of the Retina through their Education discount, so that seems like a good plan. I'm just not sure I can justify another two months on a very old PC in the hopes that there is a significant drop in Mac prices with the new generation possibly being announced.