Macbook Pro 13, Thinkpad T400s, X301

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mistax, Sep 30, 2009.

1. mistax macrumors member

I've done some researching around and on the macrumor forums about the mbp 13 and the thinkpad and im still unsure of which to get.

Im currently a student and i plan on using this laptop through out my 4 year of college before replacing or upgrading it.

Things i need
    Battery Life/ Portability mainly

Thing i could use on the side would be run a couple of light games like Aion or Wow and some light autocad/Photoshop.

One of the things that put the macbook pro ahead for me is that it is immensely cheaper than the other 2.

2. caonimadebi macrumors regular

The laptops you have listed are obviously very different machines. However there are a few criteria that should make your decision easier.
    1. Are you a Mac or PC person? Each platform offers many choices that can suit your needs, but it's important to know which OS you prefer. If you have your mind set on the PC platform, buying the 13" MBP to run boot camp is plain foolish, because you'll likely spend more than you need to
    2. Is portability your top priority? If it is you should really look at a Macbook Air for Mac, and the X301 for the PC. MBP's or the Thinkpad T-series aren't known for their portability
    3. Is battery life your top priority? If it is you should only look at the Macbook Pro's for a Mac, and the T/X series with an extended battery. Be ready to pack the extra weight
    4. Is gaming an important part of your computer experience? If it is you should really consider a laptop with dedicated graphics. None of the computer you have listed carry dedicated graphics (although MBP's 9400M stands out from the pack, in terms of graphical performance)
    5. Is this laptop going to be your only computer? If it is you should consider getting a large screen (15"+), lots of USB ports, built-in optical drive, and lots of video output formats.

hope this helps