Macbook pro 13 to Samsung LNT5265... no audio!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by val23, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. val23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys,
    So i did some searching on the forums on how to connect my MBP 13 to my Samsung LCD (LNT-5265). So i managed to get all the cables required for vidoe and audio. Video works perfectly... very nice... but audio is not. I got the optical toslink cables.... hooked it from my MBP's headphone jack to the the LCD... but there is no sound! Does optical audio from macbook to my samsung lcd work or does the samsung not accept any optical audio input? I'm not sure how this works... my LCD has 4 HDMI inputs... im using HDMI 2, but there is only one optical jack thing on the LCD. So how does the LCD know that my macbook is on HDMI 2 and to play sound the sound from my MBP when i'm on HDMI 2? Or does my LCD not even capable of accepting audio from my MBP?
    sorry i'm such a noob.. any help is much appreciated!
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Check the manual for your TV: every TV is different. There is probably a setting on the TV menus...
     
  3. val23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #3
    i wish it was that easy.... the manual says nothing about it either..
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Well apart from telling you that the optical output certainly runs (and outputs sound) even when you're using an external screen I don't know what else to tell you. It's TV specific. Perhaps search on Google or AV Forums for your TV?
     
  5. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    I think probably the optical connector on the tv is output only from everything I have found. I don't think I have ever seen a tv with an optical inout; I know my Samsung plasma is output only.
     
  6. val23 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #6
    maybe your right... i guess i don't have an optical input...
     
  7. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    And even if it did have optical input, I believe the TV wouldn't recognize it as if you have HDMI connected it'll be looking for audio through that connection. Try this cable instead---should solve your problem.
     

Share This Page