Macbook Pro 13" with SSD or Air 13"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hwp16, Nov 1, 2011.

1. hwp16 macrumors newbie

Sages of MacRumors, i require some advice.

I am a university student, travelling around the country a lot due to various placements / family trips / seeing friends etc.

I will be buying a replacement for my 2008 Macbook next week. I have already purchased the lovely LG ips236v monitor to use with whatever laptop i decide on when at home, and will be purchasing a big external hard drive to store non essential large files (hd movies mostly) that will live at home as well.

All i use my computer for is standard internet, and general uni word processing / researching etc etc etc.

Up until yesterday I had decided on the base 13" Air. Lovely bit of kit, very light for travelling, awesome. With discount that will cost me £934.

But thinking about the future, I began to wonder if a base Macbook Pro 13" (£850) upgraded with the Vertex 3 (c£150) and with the possibilty of 8gb ram in the future might give me a machine that will last a bit longer before requiring an upgrade. I know the Optical Drive will be mentioned but I cannot remember the last time i needed to use my Macbook's drive.

So.....

Any recommendations?
    Is that the best SSD? I only started reading about the different options last
    night.
    Any pros/cons to each machine that I might have missed?
    Applecare? Will the SSD void it? I will be extending the AppleCare on either machine to 3 years because the student discount makes it something ridiculous like £40 - bargain!

Any thoughts / opinion appreciated.

2. TheJing macrumors 6502a

TheJing

With that usage you shouldn't worry about "only" having 4gigs of RAM in my opinion.

I would go with the 13" Air.

3. hwp16 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the reply.

I agree that my usage at the moment doesn't warrant any more than 4gb ram.