MacBook Pro 13 with touch bar and USB SuperDrive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by number9, Jan 8, 2017.

  1. number9 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    So I have a 2016 MacBook Pro 13" with touch bar and I just opened the USB SuperDrive I bought to use with it. Plugging it in using an Apple USB A to C adapter, it makes a noise like it activates, but it never mounts on the desktop. I tried all of the USB C ports with no luck. I even tried my parents' USB SuperDrive and had the same results, so it's not a SuperDrive hardware issue. Any one know of a software or adapter issue?
     
  2. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #2
    Dumb question, but do you have a disc in the drive? it won't show on the desktop unless there is a disc inserted. Also, go into finder preferences and make sure show removable disks is selected.
     
  3. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #3
    I did have a similar issue with my previous 12" MacBook and my old USB SuperDrive. I know the USB SuperDrive required a higher voltage than most laptops could provide and I think it only worked on Mac laptops. I got around it using a simple $20.00 LG USB-A DVDRW drive I got on Amazon. Lame... but it worked.
     
  4. Tensakun macrumors 6502

    Tensakun

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Akashi, Japan
    #4
    Wow. If in fact Apple's own SuperDrive can't be used by its "Pro" machine, that would indeed be lame. I intend to use the new MBP to archive several videos and other data still on DVDs, and if I need to buy a 3rd party drive to do this basic task I won't be a happy camper.

    Any of you 13" tbMBP owners have success stories with the SuperDrive?
     
  5. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #5
    As was stated, the SuperDrive does not show up on the desktop until there is actually a CD or DVD loaded into it.
     
  6. conifer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    #6
    Works fine on my MacBook Pro non touchbar, using Apple adaptor
     
  7. number9 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Wow, didn't even think to try that. Assumed it would show up with out it but that makes sense. First time I've needed to use an external disc drive in a while so it didn't even dawn on me. Thanks!
     
  8. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #8
    Mine works fine on my 15" as well with the Apple USB adapter. Haven't tried with a 3rd party adapter. But as stated above, you must have a disc in the drive before anything mounts.
     

Share This Page