Macbook Pro 15 2.66 or 2.8

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by harvy3317, Jan 9, 2010.

1. harvy3317 macrumors newbie

First I want to say hello to everyone on MacRumors. I know what I am about to ask has probably been asked hundreds of times, so I am sorry but everyone's end users experience is different. Hopefully what I just said makes a little sense and the question/questions I am about to ask. So again forgive me if questions such as mine get a little old, like I said, everyone's end users experience is different.

A little about myself and what I will do with the Macbook Pro 15 that I purchase. I am a musician on the side and amature photography on the side. Otherwise my Macbook Pro will be used for watching movies, web, email ect. Programs/Software I use are Cubase, Pro Tools, Photoshop, FruityLoops, Line 6 software and maybe a little amature Video editing (nothing pro). *This will be my first MacBook Pro or Apple Computer all together.

**PLEASE, keep in mind this is a laptop I plan to use for the next 5 years or more. I like using a computer until its performance is beyond usable. lol. So if a laptop will take me 8 years then so be it but I would say in 5 years I might upgrade but maybe not.

Macbooks Pro 15's considering: (Prices are from my favorite store B&H Photo)

Macbook Pro 15 2.66GHz // 7200rpm HD // nVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 256MB // 3MB Cache = $2149
    Macbook Pro 15 2.8GHz // 5400rpm HD // nVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512MB
    // 6MB cache = $2145
    Macbook Pro 15 2.8GHz // 7200rmp HD // nVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512MB
    // 6MB cache = $2349