Macbook pro 15 2011 Modern warefare 2 issue.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by kaspermm, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. kaspermm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys!

    Just installed modern warfare 2 on my macbook 15 2011 (HD6490M).


    I have gfxcardstatus App installed, thats lets me choose which card to use..

    with the intel hd 3000, the game works, showing the graphics, but very slow.

    but if i choose the AMD Hd 6490M - the game is just black screen. sound is there - but no picture...

    to you have any idea what the issue is?


    thanks guys!


    Kasper.
     
  2. LinkMx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #2
    Did you change the graphics while the game was running? Try changing to AMD before running the game.
     
  3. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    definetly choose the "discrete option only", before you start up the game. try that, usually worked with me and my 2010 MBP, when having similar issues. Not uncommon though that modern warfare 2 on mac has issues, because its a cider port. it dosnt run as fluently either, even with top hardware. Make sure your internet (Wifi) is turned off aswell.
     
  4. kaspermm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #4
    I chose the discrete option before running the game...

    and yes the internet is off or i get the invalidversion error.


    i did not know it was a cider port... if i knew i would have just got the "real" version and run bootcamp.. i dont like cider, makes my hardware look bad. :)

    native games runs nice on this macbook, even though it the "low end"..

    but cant make Codmw2 run with the amd card, so i tried to play it with the intel 3000, and i can make i run ok, with low settings..

    but after a certain time, it crashes, the screeen goes all gibberish, with different colors and bars, and then the computer frezzes, and only thing to do is a "hard reboot" ? (what is it called when you force the computer to shutdown, by holding the power button?)....

    :(
     
  5. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    hmmm, i just checked the net a little, it says that this version, the one your using (in fact the only ported version of MW2) is compatible with ATI GPU's. i cant test for myself sadly, as i have the 2010 MBP. One thing that i had to do to get it to run "normal", no colour distortion when starting a level was to turn OFF anti aliasing. also i turned OFF: Sync every frame, Specular MAp, Depth of Field, Soften Smoke Edges, and Ragdoll. i played with the settings for a long time so that it was playable without colour distortion and freezes.

    Can you start up the game, and get to the main menu when you are on the ATI (AMD) GPU?? if yes, then turn off the things i mentioned above and start a level. BTW: next time it freezes with colour distortion and stuff, try pressing ALT, CMD and ESC, this will force quit the game. Thats what i used when i was playing with the settings to get it to work.


    if you have bootcamp, then get a windows version of COD MW2, you will have far better performance, its much nicer to play then on OSX. I've played MW2 (texture: extra, at 1280x800, i hardly notice the lower resolution, its playable on medium settings at 1680x1080(native)), Black Ops (medium to high settings, at 1280x800) and Metro 2033(1280x800, medium settings)
    Just to show you what you cuold do with you MBP, or roughly the same!
    Over bootcamp it will save you lots of time :)

    hope i could help
     
  6. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #6
    There is nothing wrong with Cider or Wineskin ports.. they have many advantages, as well as disadvantages.

    Just because a "port" is "native" and not Cider or Wineskin, doesn't mean it will be better... for one many porting companies do crappy ports. I have some Windows games that run in Cider or Wineskin actually better than the "native" Mac versions. You also have to rely on totally separate update support mechanism to get patches and keep games up to date. When its just the Windows version being run with Cider or Wineskin, its MUCh easier for the maker (or you, if you did the 'port') to update to the newest versions, since all the work has already been done since it uses the same exact patch made for Windows.

    Now if a native port is made well, it will be better, but thats actually a rarity on Macs. Even Steam's games are only partially what should be called native, as their graphics run a DirectX->OpenGL layer much like Wineskin and Cider does.... and thats the only real area in Wineskin or Cider that has noticeable performance issues.

    Now if your a gamers and you don't give a crap about running Windows, and want to install and run it... then you should just never buy any Mac games and just run Windows all the time... you'll have better performance and better support. Some of us don't want to run Windows though..
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    IIRC that statement was debunked last year.
     
  8. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    When I wrote native in brackets, I meant native resolution, but ok. Makes sense if you misunderstood that, wasn't very clear, my bad

    Interesting what you wrote though I must say. Didn't know that :) I'm not saying cider ports are bad, just that some of them have issues, like what I said that on certain settings the colours go al sporadic and i have to force quit it.

    I was just helping and gave him some examples what he will see if he does install bootcamp. You totally didnt understand that. Some people might want to play the occasional game, and then under windows you do get the better performance, no doubt. This isnt a Mac vs PC debate thing, I've been a mac user for years, just because you have a mac dosnt mean you cant install windows for the occasional game. Yes some people dont want to run bootcamp, but I was just mentioning it anyway. The bootcamp info was because i figured from when he wrote "and run bootcamp.." that he all ready has bootcamp set up, I might be wrong
     
  9. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #9
    no.. it was not... it was explained, and said that it didn't matter in performance, yet it was said in such a round-a-bout way to try to hide the truth, that most people took it as being debunked, which was what they wanted.
     
  10. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    Until you can prove Valve conclusively wrong I'm going to believe otherwise.
     
  11. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #11
    wrong how? they never claimed what I said is wrong...
     
  12. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    Nooooooope.

    Trust me. This isn't true. Both the Half Life 1 and Half Life 2 engines have native OpenGL mode. They may be using shims for some functions which doesn't at all mean non-native.

    (The guy doing the ports did all the Blizzard Mac ports which are also OpenGL native.)

    In fact, most games use shims for supporting different consoles + PC.
     

Share This Page