Macbook Pro 15 and Starcraft 2

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Theros, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. Theros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #1
    Hi, this is my first post in the forum ;)

    Im considering the return to the mac side :apple:

    My previous laptop was a Macbook Pro 15 Mid 2009 (C2D 2.53Ghz, Nvidia 9400M), i was very happy except with the graphics in some stuff.

    So an opportunity came and i exchanged my mac for a Alienware M15x because since i was very child i wanted a gaming laptop, and like Starcraft 2 was coming in less than a month i didn't thought any more (My dream is accomplished :p).

    Honestly i miss OSX (that was my first mac, i only stayed with it 4-6 months), and the battery principally, right now im happy but like traveled to Germany the battery in my M15x i perceived it very low (less than 1:30 hours compared to the 5 hours of my MBP).

    First i have to sell my alienware, but i don't want a "drop" in performance and go with a MBP 13" with C2D, and also i want to play SC2 in OSX, no bootcamp if is possible, is the only game that i will play apart from WoW and Ragnarok Online (when i was with my old MBP i tried to play the game in OSX, im going to continue trying).

    The most possible option for me is the MBP 2010 with Core i5 2.44/2.53, i see those models have a Nvidia 330M (is not too much difference from my current GT 240M), how is the performance in SC2/WoW in OSX? Somebody has problems with that models?

    I see that is possible a very close refresh for the 2011 models, somebody knows in which dates is possible to succeed that?

    Thanks :D
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  3. Theros thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #3
    In which quality runs SC2 those models? and how much FPS in-game?

    Honestly for me C2D is not an option, first for the price i prefer going for a i5 and in performance i will use probably audio/video encoding like a hobby, so that is what is making me not to consider those 13 models (apart from the screen, almost all my life i had used only 15" and 17 models", but like the next year i will travel the 15" are the only options for me).
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    I don't know. It'd depend on the graphics settings. How do you see fps in-game? Far more important is latency- if you have a decent connection the computer has no problem keeping up.
     
  5. Theros thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #5
    To see fps in-game leave the mouse over the Menu button/tab while playing and it should show the current fps.

    In connection i don't have any problems actually.
     
  6. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  7. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #7
    In my experience it's pretty poor. You can't play at the hi res screens native res smoothly unless you turn the settings way down. IMO you have to use Windows 7 or a good iMac to game. The GPU in the MB Pro really is a poor performer in OSX.
    I would wait to see what GPU's the refresh brings, I'm personally thinking of changing to a fully specced 21.5" iMac after their next refresh.
     

Share This Page