MacBook Pro 15" needs 8 GB to run VM Fusion?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mork, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. Mork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #1
    I find that when I'm running an instance of VM Fusion (versions 2 and 3, same experience) along with whatever other apps that were running on the Mac side, I'm using almost all of my 4 GB installed memory.

    Some memory is marked as "inactive", but the machine gets extremely slow!

    My question is, would upping the memory to 8 GB make the difference and do people really need 8 GB in virtual machine hosting cases?

    If I try to run a _second_ virtual machine (two win xp pro instances), there's so much paging going on that the machine becomes almost totally unresponsive for minutes at a time.

    I've run Disk tools, but no problems seem to exist on the disk. And with no VMs running, the machine is fine.

    -------

    I found a $499 memory upgrade (2 4 GB chips) on newegg:

    Mushkin Enhanced 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Dual Channel Kit Memory for Apple Model 976644A

    but I have no experience with this vendor (Mushikn).

    ------

    Look forward to any and all replies.

    Thanks.

    - M
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #3
    It's the standard 320 GB / 5400 RPMS

    Although this drive failed in the first year I owned the MBP, I was told that the 7200s are even more unreliable.

    Would a faster drive be the ticket or must more memory, or, gulp, both?

    Thanks.

    - M
     
  4. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    I'd say your HD is as big a bottleneck as ram. I have 4GB of ram and when i went from a 7200 RPM drive to an SSD all of the slowness associated with Parallels, or really anything, just disappeared.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Drive access speeds and times cause slowdowns in virtual machines. I'd get a faster hard drive first.
     
  6. HellDiverUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, UK
    #6
    Mushkin have been in the memory business a very long time, and their memory is top of the line. Don't worry about the quality, I rate them well above Crucial and Kingston.
     
  7. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #7
    Sounds good, thanks.
     
  8. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #8
    Even though the Mac says I've used 3.99 GB?

    Maybe "both" (memory and faster drive) are needed.

    -- M
     
  9. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #9
    Maybe upgrading to a 500 GB 7200 RPM is in order.

    Thanks!

    -- M
     

Share This Page