MacBook Pro 15" Retina 2013 - Refurbished - Urgent Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by arzbhatia, Mar 11, 2014.

1. arzbhatia macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I'm thinking to buy this refurbished macbook pro 15" retina - http://store.apple.com/us/product/F...-23ghz-quad-core-intel-i7-with-retina-display

I'm pretty sure I want these specs. The only thing that's stopping me is the refurbished thing. I can't afford a new macbook pro with those specs therefore I signed up here to ask people about how the refurbished pieces are.

What I really REALLY don't want is - Physical imperfections. I'm a designer by profession and such really turn me off :( All the devices I own are in immaculate conditions!

Has anyone ever received a refurb' system with cosmetic imperfections? Does apple replace the external shell too?

Please help me out with this, I'm looking to buy within a few days. Also, I'm not from the US, my friend would buy the laptop and immediately get it shipped to my place. Therefore, any problems, if found, would be.. well, like a big problem for me.

Help me out,

Thanks a lot!

2. accountforit macrumors 6502a

It will look brand new. Apple refurbs are as good as new.

3. trocLas macrumors newbie

Yep, refurbished are as good as new. Mine arrived as mint condition. If it wasn't for the outer box being different, I would have thought it was a new Mac :)

4. fskywalker macrumors 65816

fskywalker

Other than getting a plain white box versus the fancy OEM box, the machine should look just like new. It may have a few battery cycles, but other than that you should not be able to distinguish it from one purchased at retail price.

5. kathyricks macrumors 6502

Are the refurbs sealed in clear plastic like the factory fresh ones are? Is there a white protective piece of paper covering the screen when you open the Macbook for the first time?

6. fskywalker macrumors 65816

fskywalker

I think they do, at least my last refurb (2010 MBP) came like that