MacBook Pro 15'' Retina + 3 external monitors = FREEZE

lizzie123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 21, 2016
5
0
This setup worked fine with El Capitan (2 Thunderbolts->HDMI + 1 HDMI = 3 Monitors). Once updated to macOS Sierra - as soon as I plug in 3rd monitor (no matter what order) - it freezes entire system.

MacBook Pro 15 (Retina, Mid 2012)

Anyone else had similar issue ? Anyone is running such setup fine ?

Safe boot mode does not help.
 
I didn't have my system seize up like that but my iMac would just flash (trying to push an image to the second display) when I hooked up the second monitor. Ended up resetting the SMC and this fixed my issue, you might try the same, maybe an PRAM reset if it doesn't.

For you, you'll need to go to Apple's website here (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201295) to learn how to reset the SMC.

Information on resetting the NVRAM or PRAM can be found here (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063).

These pages also explain what each are used for.
 

lizzie123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 21, 2016
5
0
Thanks @mildocjr - I should have mentioned that I did NVRAM/SMC reset - still the same.
Wondering if I should do fresh install to check if this would help (because I kept upgrading from Lion/2012)
 
Thanks @mildocjr - I should have mentioned that I did NVRAM/SMC reset - still the same.
Wondering if I should do fresh install to check if this would help (because I kept upgrading from Lion/2012)
Fresh installs don't hurt, but I'd make sure you have a good backup first. This probably goes without saying in your case since you have a quad monitor setup. In the end, you could send feedback to Apple regarding this issue, I know this doesn't help the current situation but it will at least make them aware of the issue so you can have full support eventually.
 

arturocruz

macrumors newbie
Sep 21, 2016
2
0
lizzie123 I have exactly the same issue, with El Capitan all the 3 monitors (2 DP + 1 HDMI) worked flawlessly but after I updated to MacOS Sierra my rMBP15 mid-2012 freezes

Did you get a fix yet? thinking about rolling back to El Capitan

Regards
 

arturocruz

macrumors newbie
Sep 21, 2016
2
0
I'm rolling back to my last El Capitan Time Machine backup.

If you stay with Sierra I will like to hear any news from you regarding this issue.
 

mike666999

macrumors newbie
Sep 23, 2016
20
3
Florida
With 10.12.1 Beta my second external display is no longer recognized. MacPro Mid 2015. 1 Display connected through thunderbolt and one via HDMI. It works with only with one or the other, but not together.

I did NVRAM/SMC reset and I unchecked "Automatic Graphics Switching" in Energy Savings preferences. Still nothing.

I hope Apple brings a fix for this. Anyone with ideas?
 

lizzie123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 21, 2016
5
0
I bought HDMI->DVI cable and all works fine - I have 4 monitors running (3 external) as before :)
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.