MacBook Pro 15'' Retina + 3 external monitors = FREEZE

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by lizzie123, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. lizzie123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #1
    This setup worked fine with El Capitan (2 Thunderbolts->HDMI + 1 HDMI = 3 Monitors). Once updated to macOS Sierra - as soon as I plug in 3rd monitor (no matter what order) - it freezes entire system.

    MacBook Pro 15 (Retina, Mid 2012)

    Anyone else had similar issue ? Anyone is running such setup fine ?

    Safe boot mode does not help.
     
  2. mildocjr macrumors 65816

    #2
    I didn't have my system seize up like that but my iMac would just flash (trying to push an image to the second display) when I hooked up the second monitor. Ended up resetting the SMC and this fixed my issue, you might try the same, maybe an PRAM reset if it doesn't.

    For you, you'll need to go to Apple's website here (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201295) to learn how to reset the SMC.

    Information on resetting the NVRAM or PRAM can be found here (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063).

    These pages also explain what each are used for.
     
  3. lizzie123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #3
    Thanks @mildocjr - I should have mentioned that I did NVRAM/SMC reset - still the same.
    Wondering if I should do fresh install to check if this would help (because I kept upgrading from Lion/2012)
     
  4. mildocjr macrumors 65816

    #4
    Fresh installs don't hurt, but I'd make sure you have a good backup first. This probably goes without saying in your case since you have a quad monitor setup. In the end, you could send feedback to Apple regarding this issue, I know this doesn't help the current situation but it will at least make them aware of the issue so you can have full support eventually.
     
  5. arturocruz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #5
    lizzie123 I have exactly the same issue, with El Capitan all the 3 monitors (2 DP + 1 HDMI) worked flawlessly but after I updated to MacOS Sierra my rMBP15 mid-2012 freezes

    Did you get a fix yet? thinking about rolling back to El Capitan

    Regards
     
  6. lizzie123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #6
  7. arturocruz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #7
    I'm rolling back to my last El Capitan Time Machine backup.

    If you stay with Sierra I will like to hear any news from you regarding this issue.
     
  8. ericesquire macrumors newbie

    ericesquire

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Location:
    Sweat Pants
    #8
    Same issue here. Fwiw Uninstalling Duet didn't help.
     
  9. ericesquire macrumors newbie

    ericesquire

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Location:
    Sweat Pants
    #9
    So I unchecked "Automatic Graphics Switching" in Energy Savings preferences and I'm up and running with 3 monitors again.
     
  10. mike666999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    With 10.12.1 Beta my second external display is no longer recognized. MacPro Mid 2015. 1 Display connected through thunderbolt and one via HDMI. It works with only with one or the other, but not together.

    I did NVRAM/SMC reset and I unchecked "Automatic Graphics Switching" in Energy Savings preferences. Still nothing.

    I hope Apple brings a fix for this. Anyone with ideas?
     
  11. lizzie123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
  12. lizzie123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #12
    I bought HDMI->DVI cable and all works fine - I have 4 monitors running (3 external) as before :)
     

Share This Page