MacBook Pro 15'' Retina or iMac 27''?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TweakOnline, Aug 12, 2013.

1. TweakOnline macrumors regular

TweakOnline

Hey guys,

Currently I have a MacBook Pro 15'' Retina. I love this MacBook, but for some reasons I would like to have a bigger screen, more space and a better videocard. Since the iMac 27'' is even more powerful than the MacBook Pro Retina, I'm considering to sell my current MacBook to buy the next generation iMac with 3TB harddrive and a good videocard to game with.

What should I do?

I think I could sell my MacBook pro Retina for around €2000,- euro's, to buy a iMac for about €2500,- euro's. But is it worth the investment?

Thanks!

2. tekmoe macrumors 68000

I have been using Mac notebooks for the past 8 years. A couple of weeks ago I bought my first iMac 27" and have not had a single regret. DO IT.

3. Eduardot macrumors member

Have both. Use both. Had to keep one, the iMac of course.

4. Commy1 macrumors 6502a

Commy1

It's not possible to pick up a 27" screen for a few hundred $$$ instead of the entirely new computer?
    It's my experience using Mac and PC, Tablets and smartphones that:
    If I have a desktop, I want a laptop... just incase.
    If I have a laptop, I want a desktop... for the power.
    If I have a tablet, I want either... for the options

It's your call, if I hadn't dealt the way I did getting myself both iMac and Macbook... I'd still only have the laptop and would probably be happy with it and a secondary screen.

5. Sputnek macrumors regular

I got rid of my MBP and so far am cruising with a MBA 11'' and waiting for an iMac. I used the iMac 27'' for a week at work and cannot wait until the refreshed models come out at the end of this year or early next. If I didn't have the work computer and the MBA to hold me over, I would definitely purchase the 27'' iMac.

6. WilliamG macrumors 604