Macbook Pro 15in integrated vs discrete video card

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by intensee, Jun 11, 2009.

1. intensee macrumors newbie

Hey, I was about to get the last generation MBP (15in 2.4 ghz) when the new macbook pros came out. Now I'm super excited for the new one because it's faster, has more memory, etc...The only thing that I'm concerned about is that the base mbp 15in downgraded their GPU (from 9600 to 9400). From my understanding (correct me if I'm wrong) the 9600 is a discrete GPU and the 9400 is integrated.
    Now of course there's going to be a difference in performance but if I'm a college student just needing a MBP to surf the web, email, use facebook, do homework and occasionally watch movies, stream videos, and play games like WC3 Frozen Throne (DOTA) (this is the only game I'll be playing so no WoW or COD or any of those intense 3D graphics), which MBP would you recommend? The new baseline 15in or the last generation 15in.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Last gen. 9600GT is way better than 9400M and when 10.6 comes, OpenCL can boost your system. New ones can only take more RAM (4GB vs 8GB), that's the only advantage on new models

3. drlunanerd macrumors 65816

drlunanerd

OpenCL can utilise the 9400M. It also does CUDA.

4. NATO macrumors 68000

NATO

If it helps, I haven't enabled the discrete 9600M on my 17" MacBook Pro once since I bought it as I've never felt the need to as the computer doesn't seem slow in any way during normal use and I have better battery life as a result. Unless you forsee yourself using the computer for something graphics intensive such as gaming, I don't think you'd really need the 9600M.

5. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

If you have any intention whatsoever to play games in the future you have to buy the 9600 option. You'll regret it if you don't.