Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jr.dsgn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 14, 2009
What's good macrumors. I am an architecture student very interested and ready to purchase my first mac. I have been running an HP desktop the past few years. I am not sure which model would be the best and would like your help. I run intensive modeling/rendering programs, many times simultaneously; McNeel Rhinoceros/Grasshopper, Maxwell Render, Revit, some AutoCAD, as well as, Photoshop/Illustrator for presentations and need something that can efficiently/quickly produce. The Mac Pro is too much for me right now so that is not an option. Thanks again in advance.

Also, which storage unit is prefered - Time Capsul or Lacie...any comments from experience. Thanks.

neowillendit

macrumors member
Oct 7, 2009
Well, the best advice I can give is that it doesn't sound like you have a need to be mobile AND you probably need all the screen room you can get, so anything mobile (MacBook Pro) is out.

the iMac i7s have CPUs that are 4 times better than Core2Duos in the MacBook Pros and the iMac can hold more RAM (memory) for your (what sounds like) very graphically intensive programs.

Hope I could help

t0mat0

macrumors 603
Aug 29, 2006
Home
I'd go with the iMac. Good resolution, gorgeous display, huge display, clean and not cluttered on the desk. Time Capsules are good, but pricey - If you want a backup you could just go with a hard drive 2-3x the Hard drive of the Mac, and use something like Carbon Copy Cloner or Superduper. (Or partition the drive and use Time Capsule on it).
A part of the Time Capsule's price is that it's an Airport Extreme basestation (with a hard drive).

greg400

macrumors 6502
Aug 13, 2009