MacBook Pro 17" for a college student?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SeventeenPro, Jul 10, 2012.

1. SeventeenPro macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I plan to use a 2009 MacBook Pro 17" for college. I'm currently taking I.T. My question is: Is it too unpratical/unusual to use a big laptop like this? Although the daily job of carrying it is not an issue to me (super lightweight actually). I'm also afraid of scratching the underside; any tips to prevent it?

I'll be honest to it; It's my first time to use a Mac OS. What are some essential applications/programs that may be useful?

Thanks all.

2. daleski75 macrumors 68000

daleski75

That's going to be quite a heavy weight to carry around with you and I think it would get to you in the end.

Also why are you looking at a laptop which is 3 years old and not a newer 2010+ model?

3. SeventeenPro thread starter macrumors newbie

Not much in the weight. Can do manage it.

Not 3 years old, it's a brandnew preserved one (kept in storage since bought). Old model obviously.

4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

5. InuNacho macrumors 65816

InuNacho

I have a 17 inch Pro and while it isn't super easy to use in a lecture hall, it's more than practical. I've run into some issues where if it's in my messenger bag it's hit a few things, but with the right padding and with it inside a neoprene sleeve inside a bag its more than fine.
    One or two pounds over an air or whatever is nothing, people that complain or even mention that must not carry books or anything around.

6. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

How much have you actually tested it? I've never heard of anyone refer to the 17" as super lightweight. You must not even know when you're holding a phone in your hand.

Also, curious, how come the laptop was kept unopened for 3 years?

7. tbn002 macrumors newbie