Macbook Pro 17'' i5 or 15'' i7?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Epic800, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Epic800 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #1
    I really like the big screen size on the 17'' because I would be coming from a 21.5'' iMac. Also the resolution is better on the 17''. What I am worried about is the performance. Would it be worth to take the hit on performance, screen size and resolution?
     
  2. devilstrider macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #2
    What will you use it for? 17in is not a small laptop.
     
  3. Epic800 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    CAD, photo editing, word processing, watching movies
     
  4. devilstrider macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #4
    I say go for it then.
     
  5. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #5
    What cad do you plan on running, I currently run autocad 2011 - mastercam x3 and solidworks 2010...
     
  6. Epic800 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    Solidworks and Autocad
     
  7. fcortese macrumors demi-god

    fcortese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Big Sky country
    #7
    I comes down to what are your needs and uses. The 15 IMO is easier to tote around, has a big enough screen for most needs and the i7 a little more juice. When at home my 15MBP is hooked up to a 24' monitor. So it works for me and my needs. You have to decide what works for you. I feel power and RAM outweigh screen size.
     
  8. devilstrider macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    #8
    Same here.
     
  9. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #9
    17" i5 sounds perfect for you. The bump to the i7 is negligible
     
  10. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #10
    real question is why are you getting laptop.

    If you are transporting it around you might like smaller size of the 15 in.
    As for the lost of screen space you can counter that by getting an external monitor for working at your desk. Heck you might want to consider getting 15in i5 and using the extra money to get an external monitor.
     
  11. skymelv macrumors newbie

    skymelv

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #11
    personally, i would choose a light laptop as you'll carry it around.. not unless you willing to compromise on weight. :)

    Cheers
     
  12. Epic800 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #12
    Getting an external monitor isn't a problem. I agree on your argument as far as size goes.
     
  13. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #13
    I would stay away from the VMs like Parallels, VMware, Virtualbox and others for Autocad. I never got to test solidworks under the vm but I know in autocad the cursor was really laggy and overall a pain to use, so just plan on going bootcamp!
     
  14. Epic800 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #14
    Alright thanks a lot for the heads up. I was wondering about that. I know Solidworks 11 works on the Mac now.
     
  15. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #15
    Autocad is coming to mac soon...cant wait.
     
  16. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #16
    Don't just stay away; don't even think about it. I made the fatal mistake of installing and activating Saladworks in a VM, then when I restarted to native, Saladworks called me a dirty pirate and locked itself down ~.~
     
  17. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #17
    You were running saladworks?? in a vm and bootcamp?
     
  18. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #18
    Not in the VM. The only thing I did in the VM was install + activate.

    If you are asking if I ran the bootcamp partition AS a vm, then yes, I do.
     
  19. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #19
    But you had activated it in a virtual machine and bootcamp...which is two different locations which is two activations.
     
  20. AdamRock macrumors 6502a

    AdamRock

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #20
    just use the 17" i5 from the stuff you said you'd be using it for, the i5 would suffice.
     
  21. Epic800 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #21
    Alright sounds great! I will be ordering this weekend.
     
  22. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
  23. Epic800 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    #23
    Why do you say that?
     
  24. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #24
    more portable, SD card slot, still a lot of screen real estate, cheaper.
     
  25. Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #25
    i just took delivery of a i7 15", with the HR screen.

    i use it for multimedia, programming and web design stuff.
    also university

    perfect for my needs if thats any help.

    (would defo recommend the better screen for design work though)
     

Share This Page