MacBook Pro 17" & Kingston SSD now 200

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bullydog, Jan 11, 2012.

1. bullydog macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I am new to Mac's so I am wondering if I am doing something wrong here. I just bought a 17" Mac Book Pro (April 2011 model) and wanted to install a SSD drive. So I formatted using Disk Utility and then cloned my drive using carbon copy cloner. I then tested it by booting off of it on the usb port. It worked fine. It actually ran very fast off the USB. I then installed the SSD drive into my Mac and then when I booted up it took forever (several minutes) then once it was running it was so slow. I even tried another cloning program called super duper. Same result. I then tried to do a fresh install from my original drive attached to a usb. After downloading Lion from the server and running through the setup it failed. I am thinking the SATA connector on the motherboard is not compatible with the Kingston SSD drive. Its like the connection works but is very very slow. Does anyone have an idea what to try here. I have searched around but have not found anyone else having a similar problem. I know that the SSD drive works, also its only a couple of weeks old. I went to Kinstons site to check for a firmware update but there was not any. Thanks in advance.

2. Quinoky macrumors regular

Quinoky

What I did when I had my Crucial M4 was just a simple clean install by formatting it, putting it in the main HDD bay and then running the internet recovery. Worked like a charm. As far as I know that's the only thing you can still try.

3. squeakr macrumors 68000

squeakr

Did you happen to notice if it was performing Spotlight Indexing, as that will slow the drive down and can take a while depending on the amount of data to be indexed?

4. bullydog thread starter macrumors newbie