Macbook Pro 17" Late 2006 Logic Board Help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ZaNGieD, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. ZaNGieD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #1
    Hi

    Sorry my English it's not too good, by I'll try to explain my problem ;).

    I've got a Macbook pro 17" with this generalized problem, distorted video and glitches.

    http://torley.com/macbook-pro-with-ati-radeon-x1600-distorted-video-glitches --> explanation

    Treated on this thread too --> http://discussions.info.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1697470&tstart=0&messageID=12326867#12326867

    I tried all that stuff, but no luck of resolving the problem at this moment.

    I thought i could try get a new logic board and ind the case get a higher one,
    but i don't know if will be possible swap the old one with a higher model.

    My actual model is this one.
    http://www.ifixit.com/MacBook-Parts/MacBook-Pro-17-Inch-Model-A1151-2-16-GHz-Logic-Board/IF187-003

    And i would like to get one of those higher model's.
    http://www.ifixit.com/MacBook-Parts/MacBook-Pro-17-Inch-Model-A1229-2-4-GHz-Logic-Board/IF187-058
    http://www.ifixit.com/MacBook-Parts/MacBook-Pro-17-Inch-Model-A1261-2-6-GHz-Logic-Board/IF187-088

    it's possible to swap the older model that I've got the first one that has a core duo processor with the latest ones with a core 2 duo and faster processor ?¿

    The chip-set looks pretty similar in shape and size.

    Thx in advance.

    P.D: I have to practice more my English. I'm from Spain by the way.
     
  2. ZaNGieD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #2
    Hi

    Anybody know if it's possible to swap this 2 logic board's ;().

    Thx in advance
     
  3. ZaNGieD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #3
    Hi again.

    Anyone know if it's possible i got my logic-board nearly broken, and i need to buy one for swap ;).

    Thx again in advance.
     
  4. aimbdd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    East Cost
    #4
  5. koobcamuk macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #5
    Well, you might be able to swap them but it's not something I've heard of before. Perhaps check Apple Discussions?

    Your English is excellent :)
     
  6. aimbdd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    East Cost
    #6
    I would try the ifix it forum. They have discussions about it there ;)
     
  7. ZaNGieD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    #7
    Hi again all.

    Thx a lot for your answers ;).
    I'll try then in ifix it forum's. (I didn't know they have forums).

    Thx again.

    P.D: By the way if my English it's better is thx to watch tv series, if you see me speaking in English, it's a show hehe.
     

Share This Page