MacBook Pro 17" or 15"?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Drunkmunky33, Nov 3, 2013.

1. Drunkmunky33 macrumors newbie

Hi guys,

Im studying a Music Technology course at college and need (would benefit from) a MacBook. I don't want to beat around the bush so here it is.

Do i get..

a 2011 17" with 750GB hdd + SWAP optical drive for 256GB SSD, i7 2.3ghz 2820QM, upgrade to 16GB ram, with the 6770M

OR

a 2012 15" with basically the same spec but obviously has a newer CPU and may be slightly cheaper

I'm going to be using it at college A LOT for creating and remixing tracks etc so i thought the more screen real estate would be great for me. However, I don't know whether sacrificing a newer CPU is worth 2 inches. I'll be using this machine for about 5/6 years from when I get it (hopefully around December time) and need to know what everyone else thinks about my upgrade "plan" and the whole plan overall.

I'm looking to spend about £1000 to £1200 max. It cannot be 13", cannot be a retina model as I need two storage drives, must have at least 8GB ram although I'll upgrade to 16GB if it comes with 4GB, and must have at least the 6750M. These "guidlines" are just what I want to keep it within. I understand the budget is kinda tight and I understand you may think I'm an idiot wasting my time. I understand a fair amount about technology (mainly PC's) for a 17 year old so you can go into some degree of depth when talking about components etc.

Important - this will be my first Apple computer.

2. Darthmnkyrpm macrumors member

IMO you should get the 15". That's what I have and it works wonders. It's lasted me for years and has the possibility of lasting for years to come. The new CPU will benefit you as the computer gets older. Also, I don't think having the extra screen size will help too much. I'm mean sure it'd be nice, but it's just so big and so bulky. I do video editing, and although I'd rather edit on a 32", the 15" does everything I need without being a hassle.