Macbook Pro 17"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by d1cee, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. d1cee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    My friend has a Macbook Pro 17", *Macbook Pro 8.3*

    He wants me to replace the hard drive for him but I am not sure as to what size goes directly in there.

    Plenty of guides on how to replace it, I've no issue here and I building computers all the time.

    What i need to know is what size will fit in there and if anyone can recommend an SSD to go in there?

    Many Thanks

    d1cee.
     
  2. innominato5090 macrumors 6502

    innominato5090

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #2
    Any 9,5 mm 2,5" drive is going to fit perfectly (alternatively, you can use a 7mm drive with a spacer)

    As far as which drive to put in, I'd suggest you to go with whatever the wirecutter suggests: http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/the-best-ssds/
     
  3. d1cee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #3
    does it matter as to the type of Sata connector? as I know its a few years old the 17"
     
  4. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #4
    The spacer is not necessary on a MacBook Pro. The small bracket with the two crosshead screws you need to remove to get the hard drive out is enough to keep a 7mm drive in place securely.

    All SATA ports are backward compatible. Since the one you're working on is a 2011 model, a SATA III/6Gb/s drive will work out of the box at its maximum speed.
     
  5. d1cee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
  6. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #6
    That will work nicely. The EVO is a great drive for the money.
     
  7. d1cee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    #7
    ok brilliant, i won't need any spacers for it, and should be plug in and play, after cloning for sure?
     
  8. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #8
    Yep clone the current drive swap it out and boot it up, should work perfectly.
     

Share This Page