MacBook Pro 2.16/128 MB VRAM vs. 2.33/256 MB VRAM

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by logansosa, May 8, 2007.

1. logansosa macrumors newbie

Hi fellow Mac Users,

I am about to purchase a MacBook Pro. Like many others have inquired about, I too am between the 2.16 and 2.33 processor. But my main concern is not the processor, it is the VRAM. In either scenario I will have 3Gb of ram (getting 2Gig chip from MacRam Direct for pennies compared to many others). Personally 2.16 w/ 3Gb ram vs. 2.33 w/ 3 Gb ram will make little difference too me. The VRAM is where I am hesitating. I would rather save $435 and go with 2.16, but I am a film student and will most likely be running final cut pro, and maybe other graphic arts programs. Is the 256 MB twice as better in terms of performance? And I don't care about minimal differences. Thanks for any info that can be provided.

$1824 for 2.16GHz 120G harddrive 128 MB vram 1 Gb RAM (I will add 2Gb)
    $2257 for 2.33GHz 120G harddrive 256 MB vram 2 Gb RAM (I will take out 1 Gig, sell it, and add 2Gig chip of Ram)

2. iW00t macrumors 68040

iW00t

Since you are asking, it means money is tight.

In which case go for the 2.16

3. jaduffy108 macrumors 6502a

### I believe with FCP, you will not benefit from the better gpu...but you will if using any openGL apps like After Effects. Just to mention....if you're going to be primarily on FCP and dont **need** the machine now, and want to save some serious cash...consider waiting for the new Macbook with x3100. Probably by July....maybe June 11.

4. milky23 macrumors regular

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe the GPU is any different between the two 15" options. As near as I can tell, the only difference is the amount of VRAM. As for if it will significantly affect you logansosa, I have no idea, as I have the exact same question :)

Can someone confirm/deny this?

5. jaduffy108 macrumors 6502a