MacBook Pro 2.26GHz adequate for Photoshop?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Fenix85, Jun 13, 2009.

1. Fenix85 macrumors member

I'm new to Photoshop and planning on purchasing the education discount version with a new MacBook Pro 2.26GHz. I plan on upgrading the memory to 4GB and the hardrive to 360GB @ 7200rpm. Is the 2.56GHz processor worth the extra $300? I know the memory and hardrive will be about $140 if I get the 2.26GHz version. Will I notice a big difference between the 2.56GHz and the 2.26GHz?

2. shady825 macrumors 68000

shady825

You should be fine.
    2.26 to 2.56, you will see no difference.
    Any MacBook is going to run PhotoShop just fine for most users.
    Get what fits your budget!

Whats wrong with your MacBook CE?? It should run PS just fine!!

3. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

I'm considering doing the same thing. Personally I think the 2.26 is good enough.

I sure don't think the upgrade is worth the price difference.

4. shady825 macrumors 68000

shady825

Its really not! You will never notice that speed difference. Even with a stop watch in hand! ;)

5. Fenix85 thread starter macrumors member

I love my MacBook CE and I've been getting more into PhotoShop at school and plan to take some classes. I really like the edu discount when you buy a Mac. The back to school promo is really nice as well. My dad has been admiring my MacBook for a while and has offered me a good enough price to consider upgrading.

One more question. How many computers can I run one copy of PhotoShop on?

6. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia

I believe it's one. I could be wrong.

7. shady825 macrumors 68000

shady825

Yea I think your right...

8. tomster2300 macrumors member

I'm pretty sure it's one. I run Photoshop fine on my 2 ghz MacBook with 4 gigs of ram. You don't need 4 gigs to run it though.

9. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

Personally, I might just start with 2 gigs of ram and see how it runs. I can always get more later if need be.