MAcbook Pro 2,4 early 2008 (option ot upgrade to 2,6?)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 11miles, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. 11miles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Slovenia (for now)
    #1
    I am not a tech, but have a few techie questions?

    Is it possible to upgrade my MBP earyly2008, to 2,6 processor.
    Is the motherboard the same i can just upgrade the Processor?
    Or is it easier to change the motherboard?

    I really like the older models, and plan to stick with it till i can.
    The upgrades i think are the only thing i can do, to improve performance.
    I use the MBP for running ProTools, with lots of plugins, some of them are prettz big CPU hogs.

    Also, if i upgrade the RAM form 2 to 4, is it possible to use the same 4GB of ram in the 2,6 motherboard, if i ever upgrade?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    The CPU is soldered onto the logic board so no, not unless you swap the whole board. 266MHz increase isn't worth it, add more RAM (up to 6GB) and SSD, they will make significant difference
     
  3. 11miles thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Slovenia (for now)
    #3
    Hmmm...

    THanks for the info,
    But as AFAIK, the top upgrade for these models are 4GB?
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Officially 4GB, unofficially 6GB. OWC has tested 2GB+4GB and it worked fine
     
  5. 11miles thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Slovenia (for now)
    #5
    Niiice

    since i just ordered upgrade to 4 (2x2GB) i will test the speed. Eventually go for 6.

    So zou convinced me about the processor speed.
    What about SSD.

    A friend of mine installed it, and experienced warining about slow disk speed recording 1 track in Logic PRo.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Did he use the SSD for recording or external HD? SSDs are zillion times faster than HDs but they cost pretty. Also, it's not useful to use them for other than OS X and apps so even 80GB is enough for that. You can also do OptiBay solution i.e. replace the SuperDrive with SSD.

    If you want a speed boost, then SSD is worth it but it won't speed up Logic, only boot time and app launching, things that require HD access
     

Share This Page