macbook pro 2006

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Camper83, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. Camper83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    I have a problem with a mbp of 2006.
    I tried to format and reinstall but I have this screen shot going on always
    I would like to know what kind of problem is this?
    the graphic card
    the hard disk or something else ??

    thx
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #2
    have you tried the usual resets?
    Also do you hear if it chimes or justs boots up and sits there?
     
  3. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #3
    So, are you saying you're able to boot properly to the OS install disk?
     
  4. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #4
    That is awesome... I mean that sucks... have you dropped it ever or recently? It seems like the connection to the monitor might be loose.
     
  5. Vurius macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    #5
    That looks like it's a logic board issue. You could try taking the logic board out and heating it in an oven (or with a heat gun) for a few minutes to resolder the broken connections, but there's no guarantee that that will work. The computer is so old that it's probably not worth it to repair if the reheating doesn't work. Apple will want something like $1200 for a new logic board and, although they can be had for less at other places if you look, the computer's already so old that it really isn't worth it to fix it.

    Sucks, I know. My friend's MBP crapped out like that and it was too costly to repair. Luckily for me, though I have (and still use) the same model I haven't had the same issues. He gave the broken computer to me and I have something that I can use to scavenge extra parts off of if I need them.
     
  6. Camper83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #6
    thanx guys,

    If I try to format and install it works and then after that it doesn't work anymore and shows the scree you see in the pic.

    the idea was to restore it without spending lots of money

    hope to find a solution :)
    thx
     

Share This Page