MacBook Pro 2009 A1278 Help please.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Woody213, Jan 19, 2014.

1. Woody213 macrumors newbie

I am new to the forum and hope you all can help. I build and repair PCs for a living so please don't hold that against me.

My wife loves Apple and I just got her a 2009 MacBook Pro 13.3 in. It came loaded with OSX 10.6.3 and has the DVD Snow Leopard disk 10.6.3.

- 2009 A1278
    - 4GB DDR3 RAM
    - 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    - Nvidia 320M 256MB graphics

I got it home powered it up and it was great. Wife got an update notice for 10.6.8 so she said yes. After the install it rebooted now it locks up at boot screen, every time.

I had to pull the hard drive, format, re-install and as long as I keep 10.6.3 I am good. That is not going to work when it keeps telling me I have this update.

2. ecschwarz macrumors 6502a

ecschwarz

We all have to make a living somehow, and if anything this does give you some context with working with computers in general, so welcome! :)

I'm not really sure why that particular combination is causing problems. That's actually a quite nice machine (a good friend of mine has the 2.26GHz version - we did the SSD upgrade and it flies). As far as yours go, I'd just avoid the current software setup - reinstall 10.6.3 from the DVD (you can boot to it by holding down "C" while the computer boots, or select it from the boot menu by holding "Option" while the computer boots).

Then download the 10.6.6 combo update (this will let you skip from 10.6.3 to 10.6.6) - I'm a bit foggy if you need to download any other security updates first, but it should just install right over it. OS X uses disk images (.dmg) files to package a lot of installers, so you'll need to open the disk image by double-clicking it and then it would mount on the desktop:

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1349