MacBook Pro 2011 RAM - 1333MHz vs. 1600MHz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by CFoss, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. CFoss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #1
    Searching Mroogle, it would seem 1600MHz RAM DOES work in the latest i7 MacBook Pros. However, I'm having difficult finding comparisons of the two RAM speeds. That, and I can't find anyone that sells the 1600MHz RAM (living in Canada might be a reason for that).

    Anyway, what speed would you recommend going with? And to be more specific, what brand would you go with?

    Before anyone asks, I use Logic Studio and EWQL Libraries, which is very intensive on the CPU and RAM on my Mac Pro.
     
  2. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #2
    i would personally just go for whatever mhz your mbp originally came with for the upmost compatibility, the 1333mhz.
     
  3. Starfox macrumors 6502

    Starfox

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    #3
    I upgraded to 8 GB of 1600 MHz RAM and noticed a very slight speed difference when it comes to 3D applications while using the Intel HD 3000 GPU. I don't think a casual user would care for it or even notice it though.
     
  4. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #4
    Does the 13" i5 MBP also recognise 1600Mhz RAM?
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    I don't think it makes enough of a difference to matter. I'd just buy the standard stuff to be on the safe side.
     
  6. CFoss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #6
    So, does anyone have any recommendations of what RAM to go with?
     
  7. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #7
    Doesn't really matter a whole lot, just as long as they have a good warranty and are the right specs.
     
  8. Apple Expert macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    #8
    Yes, but it will still run at 1333 since the CPU is limited to that.
     
  9. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #9
    Buy the 1333Mhz RAM, your memory controller will NOT operate faster than 1333Mhz and slower RAM has a lower CAS Latency (generally, atleast these days). So the 1600Mhz RAM will actually operate (unnoticeably) slower.

    On a CPU/Mobo that supports 1600Mhz, the frequency bump outweighs the CAS Latency bump by a lot, hence why the CAS Latency increasing by 2 doesn't really slow you down on higher frequency RAM.
     
  10. CFoss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
  11. Starfox macrumors 6502

    Starfox

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    #11
    Aren't we talking 2011 MBPs here, where the memory controller is on the Sandy Bridge CPU? It should accept 1600 just fine then.
     
  12. tech324 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #12
    Do we know for a fact that the MBPs will not use the memory at 1600 mhz?
     
  13. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #14
    The 2.2GHz and 2.3GHz 2011 models can actually use 1600MHz RAM at that speed - there were a few threads that discussed it with benchmarks. I don't know about the lower model CPUs though.
     
  14. CFoss, Jun 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2011

    CFoss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #15
    That's why I'm not sure what model of RAM to get, as I'm purchasing a 17" MBP.
     
  15. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #16
  16. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #17
    Then it will support 1600MHz natively. It may not be worth the premium though, since you can get an 8GB 1333 kit for $59 shipped ($69 for Corsair). The 1600MHz kit is $110.
     
  17. CFoss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #18
    Perfect! Thank you. :D
     
  18. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #19
    That's XMP RAM. I was under the impression that that does NOT work in the MBPs. The link Vudoo posted is not XMP ram, which will work.

    I believe you want the RAM that ends in G, not GX.
     
  19. awer25 macrumors 65816

    awer25

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #20
    Oops. Go with the above link, not mine OP.
     
  20. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #21
    FFS, people, just get the specified 1333 MHz RAM.

    :rolleyes:
     
  21. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #22
    I just installed the Kingston 1600 mhz and no issues so far. My 2011 15" 2.2 is scoring over 10,300 now on the 32 bit Geekbench score.
     
  22. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #23
    but what frequency is your RAM operating at? check it in about this mac and settle this debate
     
  23. Vudoo macrumors 6502a

    Vudoo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas Metroplex
    #24
    Here you go...
     

    Attached Files:

  24. CFoss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #25
    If the faster RAM improves the computer's speed, why not go with the faster RAM?
     

Share This Page