macbook pro 2011 ram question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by firelighter487, Feb 11, 2018.

  1. firelighter487 macrumors regular

    firelighter487

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    i'm planning on buying a used macbook pro 13 inch late 2011, but have a question.

    it's quite cheap because it has only 4GB of ram. now, i have ddr3 sodimm memory spare, but it's 1600mhz.
    on apple's page it specifies that this model uses 1333 mhz memory.
    will it work with my spare ram? just at lower clock speed? or will it not boot and would i have to get new memory for it?

    thanks!
     
  2. robvas macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Try it...but my 2011 won't boot with 1600MHz memory
     
  3. firelighter487 thread starter macrumors regular

    firelighter487

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    i haven't bought it yet. i need to know if i need to buy new memory, because then i could get a cheaper one with less ram since i need to buy new memory anyway.
     
  4. Macdctr macrumors 6502a

    Macdctr

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Ocean State
    #4
    I wouldn't buy 1600MHz memory if you haven't purchased it yet. I doubt the 5,1 MacPro will boot with it installed...
     
  5. firelighter487 thread starter macrumors regular

    firelighter487

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    macbook pro first of all.

    second, i already have the memory laying around.
     
  6. Macdctr macrumors 6502a

    Macdctr

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Ocean State
    #6
    Right! Sorry I misread.
     
  7. MBP_187 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    #7
    Hi,

    Short answer : it works! I have done it myself.

    Please read this Thread : https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/1333mhz-vs-1600mhz-ram.2063325/#post-24931571

    Deals with exactly what you are asking. Good Luck.
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    You didn't ask this, but...
    ... I'd suggest buying at least a 2012 MBP instead.
    It has USB3, which is a HUGE "jump up" over USB2.
     
  9. radubraharu macrumors regular

    radubraharu

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Location:
    Romania
    #9
    I would say that it will not work. Frequencies of the RAM modules should be the same.
     
  10. Maxx Power macrumors 6502a

    Maxx Power

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    #10
    The second module should down-clock itself to match the slowest of the two. This should work in theory, but odd times you get incompatibility issues with the stick and the other stick, or the stick and the computer. It worked fine for my older Mac Mini with a stick of 1066 Mhz and a stick of 1600 Mhz, both run at the specifications of the 1066 Mhz (this is much more common in the PC world, if you Google around). If you look at any DDR3 SODIMM with a memory timing and frequency read-out tool (like CPU-Z in Windows), you'll see that as per JEDEC specifications, there are multiple speeds and timings that the stick will run at (which means that memory is generally backwards compatible on a frequency-basis for the same generation of memory). Combining a slower and a faster stick simply forces the faster stick to run at the speeds of the slower stick on a Mac, when the EFI reads these timing and frequency tables.
     
  11. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #11
    as max said I did this in a 2010 MacBook. one 1066 and one 1600 and it works fine at 1066 speeds.

    no boot if two 1600 though.
     

Share This Page

10 February 11, 2018