Macbook Pro 2011 Refresh, Should I Wait *If it does come*

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by davmcn, Jan 5, 2011.

1. davmcn macrumors regular

Hi,

I'm new here and not sure if this was the right place to post this, but figured I'd give it a shot anyways ...

I'm just wondering, there has been a lot of posts I've seen about a refresh in the Macbook Pro around Spring 2011. Does anyone know if it's worth waiting for ?

I'm a student in Photography and Cinematography and looking at getting a Macbook Pro for school but don't want to buy one now if it's worth waiting a few months for...

Dave.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Do you need it now or can you wait? What MBP are you looking at? Can current MBPs satisfy your needs? I would wait if you don't need it now

3. atomwork macrumors regular

If we don't get a Quad or Six core than don't wait.

4. davmcn thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for replying ,

I'm currently looking at the 15' 2.66 i7. I for sure want a Quad Core since I do a lot of movie/film processing on my Mac Pro. I've heard a lot of rumors that the new ones may potentially have SSD or Flash memory and that seems like something I would like if it were to happen, But the only big concern I do have, is that if they remove the Super Drive I'll be left out buying an external drive.

5. Cammer macrumors newbie

I just bought a 15" 2.8ghz i7 with 4mb RAM and the hi-res screen. I feel that it would be able to handle your needs very well. If you look on the Apple website you will find my faster processor listed there, but it isn't obvious. It is a $200 upgrade from the 2.66ghz. If you do order a MBP from Apple, I would not buy the 8gb RAM option. They charge $400 for it. Instead you can go to the Crucial website, or whatever your favorite brand of RAM is, and buy a full 8mb of RAM for about $120. It is not difficult to swap it out and instructions can be found on the Apple website.