MacBook Pro 2011 SSD Upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chekz0414, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #1
    Hi All, I own an 13" Early 2011 MBP with 500GB HD, I was wondering if I could upgrade it to an SSD from a 2012 MBP the default Toshiba Apple branded ones?
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Sure, but unless you're getting a great deal on the Toshiba unit, a Samsung 840 Evo would be a better choice.

    *edit* also, as long as the 2012 MBP isn't a retina model. If it is a retina model, the SSD is a different form factor and won't fit.
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Assuming it's not the blade type from a retina, go ahead.

    3rd party 2.5in SATA drives from the likes of Samsung, Crucial etc work just fine. I had a Crucial M4 in mine for 12 months without any issues.
     
  4. chekz0414 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #4
    Just so that I have my facts straight, an SSD is less prone to an HD failure due to non moving parts correct? Do you happen to know what issues an SSD may have? I will definitely consider Crucial and Samsung those are some big names.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    I don't understand what you are asking.

    An SSD has no moving parts. It's a collection of chips on a board, housed in a box. Other than an early OCZ drive that had a firmware bug (update fixed it), I've yet to encounter an SSD that's stopped working.
     
  6. chekz0414 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #6
    Woot you've answered what I asked. So I shouldn't fear an HD failure, is eBay a good place to look?
     
  7. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    eBay? No.
    Buy new, there's lots of good offers around at the moment.
     
  8. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    SSDs have a limited number of write cycles available. Blocks become unusable sometime after that number of writes. It's not something to worry about as moderate use will last for 40 to 50 years. High volumes of writes might shorten that to 10to 15 years.
     
  9. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    It really won't mater who plans to own a 10 year old laptop anyway?
     
  10. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
    #10
    Don't forget to download trim enabler to enable trim as osx disables trim on all 3rd party SSD.
     
  11. chekz0414 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #11
    Would you be so kind as to link me? I am in search of 512GB. :)

    What exactly should I be aware of with TRIM?
     
  12. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
    #12
  13. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #13
    You've not filled out your location information. Unless you live in the UK my local prices are probably very little relevance to you.
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Samsung EVO here or Crucial MX100 here are about the best bang for the buck right now. Either would be good for your setup. I would get the cheaper MX100.

    ----------

    This forum uses a software package that converts links to local stores. For example in my post I linked to the USA Amazon store for those SSDs. If you in the UK click my links the forum software should defect you are in the UK then send you to my same product link in the UK store. Pretty slick. :)
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    No worky!

    Goes to amazon.co.uk, then straight back to the US site.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Hmmm... must be busted. So it first takes you to the UK Amazon page then redirects back to the US one?
     
  17. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    Yep. Appears in the address bar for a fraction of a second.

    Anyway, people should fill in the location field. ;)
     
  18. chekz0414 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #18

    Thanks so much :) I've ordered the MX100 from Amazon US, and I also ordered some Crucial RAM from there too of the 1333MHz configuration. Now, my next question is if I enable TRIM in Mavericks, will Yosemite DP 6 be able to boot without causing me a boot failure?
     
  19. kieranread macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    #19
    Having just done this in a 2011 Pro, I found the whole process very easy to do, I even removed my optical bay for another drive, this can be done as standalone drives or they can be set in a RAID configuration, it depends what you want to go for, but the SSD on its own without the second drive is a huge yes, my boot speed now is around 10-20 seconds, logging in is lightning fast and launching multiple applications is a complete breeze
     
  20. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #20
    If you install Yosemite over top of Mavericks it is going to overwrite the kext file you hacked with the TRIM enabler, so it won't hurt anything.

    If you install Yosemite on a separate partititon, that too would not impact the TRIM hack in Mavericks.
     
  21. chekz0414 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #21
    So will I have to apply TRIM enabler every OS X update after this update to the SSD?
     
  22. illusionx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Brossard, QC
    #22

    Trimenabler can be set so that it notifies you when trim gets disabled.

    Otherwise, yes you pretty much have to apply it every time there is an OS update.
     

Share This Page