Macbook pro 2016 Base model vs 2015 maxed out?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by apppen1, Dec 13, 2016.

  1. apppen1, Dec 13, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016

    apppen1 macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #1
    I'm undecided about these two machines, I could get the 2015 full maxed for about the same price as the 2016 base model but the problem is the 2015 has the Intel Iris pro graphics option only. Someone can give me some feedback about the iris pro graphics while handling the UI? I browse the Web, use Logic pro X (95% of the time), casual Photoshop and Final Cut Pro. I dont game.
     
  2. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
  3. jackoatmon macrumors 6502a

    jackoatmon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #3
    yah there's literally no way to know what's better without knowing the use-case.
     
  4. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #4
    Web browsing, Logic pro X, casual Photoshop and Final Cut Pro.
     
  5. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #5
    Why not order a 2015 from a reseller (B&H, Macmall, Adorama, etc.) that has the 2.5/16/512 with the 370 graphics card? Anywhere from $2099 to $2299 new depending on where and when you buy it.
     
  6. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #6
    Unfortunately I dont have that option. I am from Europe and here they dont have the M370X model in stock anymore.
     
  7. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #7
    Ah! That's unfortunate.

    Based on your usage, the 2015 would be terrific, and might last longer given Apple's challenges in the past with discrete graphics cards.
     
  8. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #8
    You think the Intel Iris Pro is enough for a flawless UI performance?
     
  9. maerz001, Dec 13, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016

    maerz001 macrumors 6502a

    maerz001

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #9
  10. fpenta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    #10
    Went for a maxed out 2015 from refurb store 2.8, 1 TB, M370X for 2999€
     
  11. bobosing316 macrumors newbie

    bobosing316

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    #11
    I will definitely go for the new model given the price is the about same. It has faster SSD and ram & better screen which I value most
     
  12. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #12
    Yes I have been thinking of that but not sure if upgrade the CPU to 2.9 on base model, keep the 2.6 and upgrade SSD to 512 and graphics to 460, or just go with the mid model with 2.7/512/455 since these are all at the same price.
     
  13. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Thermal performance of the 2016 (base CPU especially, which is 2.6) is enough to prefer it to the old generation.

    By the way, by upgrading CPU from 2.6 to 2.9 you'll do a disservice to yourself. If that upgrade also prevents you from getting 512GB SSD and better dGPU, it's a double fail.
     
  14. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #14
    So you are saying I should go with 2.6/512ssd/460 gpu?
     
  15. jackoatmon macrumors 6502a

    jackoatmon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    #15
    dude all you need is the base model 2016 13"

    anything else is overkill you'll regret

    get the new thin sexy machine but don't get trapped in the upgrade vortex unless you actually need the power (you don't)

    unless you're rich, in which case get a maxxed-out 13"

    i could see getting a baseline 15" 2016 if you're super duper into big screens and don't take the laptop out that often
     
  16. maratus macrumors 6502a

    maratus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    That's the best configuration atm. 2.6GHz is cooler than higher end CPUs (no throttling, quieter fans) and 460 gives you 4GB of VRAM which is invaluable for OpenCL acceleration (Photoshop, Final Cut Pro and other heavy loaders)
    It depends on how much the computer is going to be used. 15.4" vs. 13.3" is a huge difference in terms of real estate and for many users is even more important than power. Plus, the 13" rMBP isn't as portable for a 13" class as 15" rMBP is for a 15" class. In fact, they're way too close in weight which makes 15" more attractive.
     
  17. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #17
    13 is out of the question I'm just afraid the 2.6 is not enough for lots of virtual instruments in Logic.
     
  18. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #18
    Go for the 460 and the SSD size the graphics and space will do you far more good than a slightly faster clocked CPU...
     
  19. kokhoong0624 macrumors regular

    kokhoong0624

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    #19
    I bought a 2016 2.7/460/1TB for a price that is cheaper than your 2015... did you get it at the Apple Store?
     
  20. fokmik macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    go for the new one, the screen, the dGPU will help, even the speakers if you make audio editing
     
  21. fpenta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    #21
    Yes that's why I returned it and ordered a 2016 with 2.9, 1TB, 460 for 600€ more with educational discount.
     
  22. maerz001 macrumors 6502a

    maerz001

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #22
    What??? Where did you get yours? In Europe this configuration is 3799€ from Apple
     
  23. kokhoong0624 macrumors regular

    kokhoong0624

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    #23
    Bought it in Malaysia with education discount. 3799 Euro is about 17886 MYR.
    In Malaysia, the model I bought cost 13209 MYR.. which is about 2805 Euro.
    With 3799 Euro I could bump the processor and up the storage to 2TB :p
    Fancy a visit here?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. apppen1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #24
    Anyone with Logic Pro X installed can test to me and tell me if the discrete GPU is used with Logic?
     

Share This Page