Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kthemacguy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 5, 2017
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy a new MacBook. I'm in college and I'm studying Comp. Sci. I need something that'll be able to handle my future needs as a Computer Scientist, probably doing some heavy programming/app creation/artificial intelligence stuff. The reason I'm mentioning this is because I've heard reports of the Early 2016 MacBooks hanging when run with moderate load, and I can't have that happen. So I need advice on which MacBook Pro to buy.

I'm looking at the MBP WITHOUT Touch Bar that came out late 2016, and the retina MBP that was updated in mid-2015 I think. Here are the things I want to know:

My main concern is processor clock speed. The 2015 retina lists a 2.7 GHz processor, but according to everymac.com its processor is a 5th-generation Broadwell processor. The late-2016 non-touchbar MBP lists a 2.0 GHz processor, and everymac.com says it's a 6th-generation Skylake. So I'm not very knowledged about processor speeds -- will there by noticeable change between the 2.7 GHz one and the 2.0 GHz one? Will that difference by mitigated at all by the fact that the 2.0 is a generation beyond the 2.7 one?

With hard-drive customization, the price for these two options comes to be the same, so I can buy either. I need assurance from someone (or a warning to the opposite effect) that if I buy the late-2016 non-touchbar MBP, the 2.0 GHz won't hang on the programming tasks I'll want to do in the future. Or, if someone can confirm that it will hang whereas the 2.7 GHz mid-2015 MBP won't hang.

Any help and discussion will be appreciated in helping me make this decision. All this is based on numerous reports on various forums and websites that say that their 1.6 GHz early-2016 MacBook hangs frequently, so I want to be sure I'm getting a good-enough processor.

Thanks in advance...

Samuelsan2001