MacBook Pro 5,5 Upgrade Questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marissa.anders, Mar 20, 2013.

1. marissa.anders macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm getting a second hand Macbook Pro 5,5 from a friend who recently upgraded her Mac. I'm new to using Macs so any help would be appreciated.

The Macbook Pro 5,5 is in good condition but it was recommended that the RAM and Hard Drive be upgraded.

Would anyone be able to offer me tips on what kind of Hard Drive to get? I think the maximum size is 1 TB but I wasn't sure if it's better go get a 1 TB 2.5" Hard Drive at 5400 RPM or a 750 GB 2.5" Hard Drive at 7200 RPM.

Does anyone have any thoughts on that? I'm not sure if the speed of the RPM makes that much of a difference?

Also, from what I understand, the max capacity for the RAM is 8 GB so I am going to purchase this:

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Tech...6K2-8G/dp/B001PS9UKW/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Any thoughts on this?

2. josephmccutchen macrumors member

It all depends on what you need more, space, speed, or both. If space is the greatest concern, I used this drive in my computer:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178256

It's 5400 RPM, but the extra space is great.

This drive, a 750GB, is a 7200 RPM:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136856

The RAM you found on Amazon should be fine. Hope it all works out for you!

3. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch

Unless you really need all that space, an SSD is highly recommended when it comes to speed increases. It is as night and day vs a HDD.

4. josephmccutchen macrumors member

Good you mentioned that; should of mentioned that one. Guess the only reason I didn't is because the OP computer is a 2009 model; wasn't sure if the SSD would perform well enough to justify the expense.

5. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch