Macbook Pro 500GB 7200rpm or 128 SSD?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macwow55, Apr 16, 2010.

1. macwow55 macrumors newbie

Ok.

I'm still learning how all this works. Bear with me.

I am getting a New Macbook Pro 15 inch 2.66ghz
    8GB Ram

I dont know much about SSD so my question is:

Considering I only have 2 choices here:

the Upgrade SSD 128GB
    or
    the 500GB 7200rpm Drive

(NOTE THAT I HAVE 7200rpm EXTERNAL DRIVES)

I will be using the computer INTENSIVELY for Photoshop (raw files etc), Audio mULTI-TRACK recording, & Video editing.

There seems to be some confusion (for me) as the wether the SSD is actually advantageous or a hindrance to these types of applications.

ANY ADVICE?

Thanks,

Scott

2. kernkraft macrumors 68020

kernkraft

Wow, 8GB? That's a lot of memory...

Anyway, what I would suggest is to start with the HDD and if it doesn't work, just clone and switch.

As you said, there are certain applications that are fine with HDDs. I am not a heavy user on graphic and audio applications (you might just as well ignore what I advise), but I went through these options and in the end I just couldn't justify 128GB of SSD. Maybe 32-64... but 128 - that's a lot of premium to be ahead of today's mainstream technology.

EDIT:

Actually, as I'm going through the options, I would only have the anti-glare screen as an extra and try to upgrade the RAM and HDD or SSD by third party roots. If money is not an issue, you might just as well splash out of that $200. It's nothing, compared to that $400 RAM upgrade.

3. Jedi macrumors regular

Jedi

IMO :)

Save your money on ram and just stick to 4 Gig`s and get the SSD.

You will gain longer battery life and faster boot times, plus eliminating a rotating mass in a notebook is always a good thing !

Gary 

4. designs216 macrumors 65816

designs216