MacBook Pro 802.11ac Wave2?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by northernmunky, Aug 1, 2018.

  1. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #1
    Does anyone know if the new 2018 Macbook Pro supports 802.11ac Wave 2 or are we still on Wave1?
     
  2. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #2
  3. northernmunky thread starter macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #3
    Cheers, thought not. I'd expect it would get mentioned somewhere if it was. I'm looking for a new router but I wont bother with the expense of looking for a AC Wave 2 model if I've got nothing that can use it.
     
  4. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #4
    I doubt Apple would add support for Wave 2 AC especially with WiFi 6 on the horizon. I think thats much more of a worthwhile update for them.
     
  5. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #5
    The processor that's been suggested for the new 13" device supports Wave2.
     
  6. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #6
    The processors support it internally yes but Apple to my knowledge used Intel internet adapters. They have always used BC.
     
  7. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #7

    Right, but the wifi chipset wasn't included in the previous processors. It is in this one. Apple still may use BC, but that would seem a bit silly to have the wifi chipset embedded with the processor and then not use that but use the BC chipset instead to get a lower performing wifi. You could be right though.
     
  8. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #8
    yeah it doesn't make sense to me but I'm sure there's a reason. ive used intel modems in the past with windows computers and they weren't really powerful or reliable. So maybe that has something to do with it.
     
  9. Howard2k macrumors 68020

    Howard2k

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    #9
    I guess we’ll find out soon enough. Maybe we’ll get Wave2 but limited to 2x2 like the current nTB. That would be disappointing.
     

Share This Page

8 August 1, 2018