Macbook Pro Advice - For Student

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kokhoong0624, Nov 12, 2016.

1. kokhoong0624 macrumors regular

kokhoong0624

I am currently doing medicine and I am planning to get the MBP15 2016 RP460 and I would like to ask a few questions regarding this purchase as it is very expensive...

I am an amateur photographer, I use PS very often, AI and I'm learning Motion Graphics on AE on my free time.. And plan to learn Maya/Cinema4D in the future.
    I have A LOT of medical notes and some of the medical softwares only work on Windows. Plan to use bootcamp for that.

1. Do you think this computer will be sufficient for my needs for the next few years?

2. Should I upgrade my storage to 1TB?

3. Will battery life be significantly shorter (<50%) if I use bootcamp on windows?

Thanks in advance for any advices. Plan to place my order tomorrow if it's sufficient for my needs.

2. Altis macrumors 68020

1. I would suspect so.

2. I would since you can't upgrade after buying, and you may want lots of space for both operating systems and the things you describe.

3. It's usually a bit less but not <50%. It does depend on what version of Windows and what applications you're using. It's worse if you run Windows in a VM rather than booting natively.

I found Windows 10 can be a lot harder on my MBP when it goes nuts with updates while I'm on the go. That's the only time that battery life gets noticeably worse for me (hence I switched back to Windows 7).

3. kokhoong0624 thread starter macrumors regular

kokhoong0624

Thanks so much! Does windows 7 work on the latest MBP?

4. Altis macrumors 68020

I suspect it might not. If I recall correctly, they stopped adding new hardware compatibility as part of their plan to make everyone move up to Windows 10. I'm almost certain the 2015 MBP works though.