Macbook pro Advice

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DIMEZ, Jul 5, 2010.

1. DIMEZ macrumors 6502a

DIMEZ

I just sold my macbook pro pre unibody 2.4ghz and 4gb that i bought from apple website in october 08 for $900. I decide to buy a unibody 08, with the same specs except it comes with 4gb ram and a 500gb 7200 harddrive for $1075 and comes with apple care until jun 2012. I am a graphic designer and use photoshop alot, final cut and also do music production with logic. I was wonder if i made the right decision or should of purchased a 2010 macbook pro with the new i5 or i7 processors. I'm really not concerned with the hi res screen. Im just wondering id i should of just spent more money for a newer system with better speed and performance. Is it that much of a difference or did i make the right choice?

thanks
    j

2. winninganthem macrumors 6502a

winninganthem

You got a solid computer for around $1000 which is really great. Don't worry about the i5's or i7's that go for around $2000. The extra thousand dollars isn't worth the speed difference. You don't exactly need the latest and greatest in order to create masterpieces.

3. TZRaceR6 Guest

TZRaceR6

Could have gotten a 2010 13" (minus the 500gb harddrive) for about that price. Better graphics and processor too. And for about another $100 on top of that, you could have added your own 500gb HDD or for $129 a Momentus XT hybrid drive. Think you spent to much for what is essentially a 3 year old computer.

4. DIMEZ thread starter macrumors 6502a

DIMEZ