Macbook Pro Airport Problem

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by usagiii, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. usagiii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys, thanks in advance...

    My problem is i have a macbook pro, it worked fine, until 2 days ago... it stopped connecting to the wifi here at work. It finds it but it doesnt connect, my PC connects fine.

    I cant figure it out, running the leopard, havent updated yet.


    please help, as a designer really need the mac.

    thank you
     
  2. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #2
    *Bump* a little more info, tried the zapping of the PRAM, nothing, tried the littlesnitch fix, and still nothing... i find the wifi spot but i cant connect...
     
  3. corbywan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #3
    Do you connect to the wifi (meaning the little bars go black showing your connected) but then can't go anywhere, or does it not even actually connect to the wifi access point?

    Can you connect with it anywhere else there is wifi?
     
  4. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #4
    meaning that it shows the wifi, but the little bars dont go black... they stay greyish, and it doesnt connect...:(

    EDIT, my pc can connect to the same wifi without problem... my iphone connects, my PS3 connects, everything i own connects except the MBP
     
  5. corbywan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #5
    Try this, if you have not.

    Open System Prefs/Network. Highlight AirPort and click Advanced. You should be on the AirPort tab with a window called Preferred Networks that lists all the wifi access points you have connected to.
    Do some house cleaning. Highlight and click the "-" button to remove any items you don't use often or care about.
    Also remove the one for your work wifi.

    Does your work require a password to connect to the wifi? If so, open up Keychain Access (in the Utilities folder).
    In the Category box on the left click on Passwords.
    In the list on the right click on the Kind column so that it sorts the list.
    Look for the kind AirPort network password, there should be one for your work wifi. Delete that puppy.

    Reboot (you might not need to, but it can't hurt).

    Try again.
     
  6. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #6
    did that, thanx for the try though,... still doesnt connect:mad:
     
  7. corbywan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #7
    Tried this?
    System Prefs/Network.
    Highlight AirPort in the list of interfaces and click the "-" button to delete the interface. Click apply, reboot.

    Go back in, click "+" and add the interface back with a name like AirPort1 or something different.
    Click apply, try to get it to connect.
     
  8. corbywan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #8
    If nothing else, you might try having whoever is in charge of the wifi at work reboot the wifi box. I've seen that fix weirdness like this before. It might be on the wifi end and not the Mac.
     
  9. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #9
    corbywan i did what you said and still nothing, the only thing that the mac is good for at this point is to admire the look of it...:(
     
  10. corbywan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #10
    Are you able to connect to any wifi anywhere?
     
  11. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #11
    i havent gotten the oppurtunity to check any other wifi... ill check and get back to you...
     
  12. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #12
    NOPE, that didnt work either, it looks like airport times out the connection, everytime it tries to connect.:(
     
  13. corbywan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Forest Grove, OR
    #13
    Hm. Not sure what else to try. Has it ever worked, ever? Try a repair permissions? Check for any more updates? Maybe download a combo updater and install that?

    If it has never worked, it might be time to visit an authorized service center.
     
  14. usagiii thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #14
    nah it used to work, it has abt a week now that it has stopped working, and what should i download and from where?:confused:
     

Share This Page