Macbook Pro Airport scanning all the time?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Caris, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Caris macrumors 6502a

    Caris

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #1
    Hey, the Airport on my MBP scans all the time, it has full signal strength and never disconnects but it always says scanning in the menu bar. is this normal?

    I did a quick search but it didn't really help my problem.

    I'm on 10.5.2
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    Just checked and mine does this too...not sure if it's supposed to.
     
  3. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  4. MacMan33 macrumors regular

    MacMan33

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    No, it is not suppose to, this is an issue with the 10.5.2. A lot for others are experiencing the same.

    sorry typed on my iphone while driving:)
     
  5. markrivers macrumors 6502a

    markrivers

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    Valencia, California
    #5
    English please.. :D i have to read this twice
     
  6. AuroraProject macrumors 65816

    AuroraProject

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Right there
  7. honeycrisp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #7
    I don't think it's supposed to be doing that...
     
  8. CrashMelb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    #8
    I've got this same problem! I'm on the new MacBook Pro, so not sure what update that is - but it is constantly searching at all time and has a fair few dropouts. This is my first Mac so brand new noob advice appreciated.

    Any more thoughts?
     
  9. riun79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    My Macbook Pro has been doing the same thing ever since I upgraded to 10.5. Airport never stays connected and drops often.

    When I called about it, Apple Support was very dismissive. :mad: After 2 hours and three levels, they blamed it on my router and claimed to never have heard about this problem before, even though I directed them to threads about this problem on their own website. Tomorrow, I am taking my laptop into the Genius Bar to see if they can help me there.

    Has anyone else called support about this?
     
  10. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #10
    Yeah, mine does it too. And it doesn't hurt often, but one place I go it does mess me up. Because it'll pick up a signal that's weak and then lose it because it THINKS its found something better.

    So, I end up losing internet.
     
  11. Batt macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #11
    Mine scans when I open the drop-down window, but stops after a few seconds. Close the window and reopen it - same behavior. Seems normal and causes no problems.
     
  12. eyespii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #12
    Mine does the same thing - occasional connection drops with my airport express, but not much more than my previous dell machine. Seems like normal behavior to me.
     

Share This Page