MacBook Pro and Adobe Flash Update

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yusukeaoki, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    I once had this problem and it stopped for one update.
    Now it started to do it again over and over and over.

    On my 2011 MBP, every time I try to update flash, it tells me
    "Please quit Safari"

    Now obviously my Safari is closed, I even tried force quitting, restart, etc.
    It still asks me to quit Safari.

    The only way to bypass this malfunction is to uninstall flash and reinstall them.
    However, this gets annoying when you have to do this over and over.

    Does anyone have the same problem and/or solution?
    It can be either my Mac or OS problem but Im kind of suspecting that its the OS.
    Correct me if Im wrong.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. lagisibuk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Always Somewhere
    #2
    It's simple.
    You need to close application, please right click and choose "quit/close" and try again.
     
  3. B..., Jul 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014

    B... macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #3
    (S)he has obviously already done that (I hope).
     
  4. sofianito macrumors 65816

    sofianito

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Location:
    Spain
    #4
    Did you have any other browser running such as Chrome?
    Did you verify with Activity Monitor that safari was not running after closing it with cmd-q?
    Did you try to quit and run again adobe flash updater after closing safari?
     
  5. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #5
    Close all your browsers to include fluid...

    Flash is seeing a browser open..it's installing in your system library and can't do it with any browser open.
     
  6. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    I dont use any other browser than Safari.
    I have them installed but I dont use them at all and yes they are all closed.

    As I mentioned even force quit them and checked to see if Safari wasnt running.
    No change.
     
  7. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #7
    Delete the old plug in in

    Syetem/Library/Internet plugins
     
  8. alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Which release of OS X is that? Even correcting the spelling to "System" there is nothing like that on my Late 2011 model 13" cMBP running Lion:

    Did you mean this one?

    Code:
    $ ls -l /Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/ | grep Flash
    drwxrwxr-x  3 root  wheel   102 12 Jul 23:54 Flash Player.plugin
     
  9. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    I believe your looking in you user library
     

    Attached Files:

  10. alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    No, there is nothing like that in my user library and if you look at your own screenshot you can see those Plug-Ins are under /Library not /System/Library
     
  11. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #11
    No Their under the system library..that is my main drive thats why the highlight is devices..
     
  12. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #12
    This is the user library, no adobe plugin here
     

    Attached Files:

  13. alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    So when you post the path "System/Library" (I assume that was the spelling you meant) you mean "/Library" on your system?
     
  14. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #14
    your system library is located in your HDD not your user folder that's user/library/internet plugins..

    open your HDD in finder and it'll be right there..

    I'm trying to help you, but you want to argue. I gave a screenshot that showed you exactly where it was. Try deleting the flash plug in and reinstalling my gut says there is an issue with you're current plug in.
     
  15. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    Open finder and click on "Macintosh HD".
    Usually there should be only Applications, Library, System, Users folder shown.
    Go to "library" and find the "internet plug in".

    ----------

    I want to clarify on which file to delete?
    In this case only the flash player plugin right?
    Ive got a flash player.plugin and flashplayer.xpt file in plug ins.
    Delete both or...?
     
  16. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #16
    Both..then restart and try to reinstall...
     
  17. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #17
    Gotcha.
    I have to use Safari at this moment for my work so Ill report ASAP when if it works or not when Im done.
     
  18. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #18
    Lemme know..
     
  19. alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #19
    Yes, I'm aware of that.

    No it is not under /System/Library - but I think perhaps you are trying to make things more complicated that they really are.

    Mac OS X is Unix based and Unix is really very simple. Unix uses the forward slash ("/") as the file system separator and the leading "/" is normally taken to mean to "root".

    Unix (unlike Windows, VMS and some others) is a single-rooted operating system, which means that 99% of the time, there is no need to specify the disk volume, because when that volume is mounted, everything is relative to root ("/").

    So when you tell someone to look under System/Library on any Unix or *nix based system, that implies either $HOME/System/Library (but that doesn't exist), or /System/Library (which does exist, but it's the wrong place).

    Open a terminal and you can see Plugins under /System/Library

    Code:
    bash-3.2$ ls /System/Library/ | grep -i plug
    Address Book Plug-Ins
    KerberosPlugins
    LoginPlugins
    UserEventPlugins
    But these are not the Plugins were are interested in here.

    The ones we want are under /Library - not /System/Library
    ... and of course not $HOME/Library ether

    The ones we want are under /Library ... like this:

    Code:
    bash-3.2$ ls /Library/Internet*Plug-Ins/ | grep -i plug
    Flash Player.plugin
    JavaAppletPlugin.plugin
    Quartz Composer.webplugin
    QuickTime Plugin.plugin
    nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt
    That's funny, I'm trying to help you (and the thread starter), but you want to argue. :D
    But thanks for your efforts.

    Why do I want to delete my plugin for?
    Mine is working fine.

    But if I wanted to know if some process was holding a file open, I'd probably use "lsof" or something like that.

    e.g.
    Code:
    $ lsof | grep -i flash
    Right now it tells me that these files are open for flash:

    /Library/PreferencePanes/Flash Player.prefPane/Contents/Resources/FlashPlayerPreferences.png
    /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/Flash Player.plugin/Contents/MacOS/Flash Player
    /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/Flash Player.plugin/Contents/PlugIns/FlashPlayer-10.6.plugin/Contents/MacOS/FlashPlayer-10.6

    From the full output of "lsof" we can also see the process name/id and the last two files are held open by Firefox ... as we might expect, but the first one is held open by the SystemUIServer process.

    We can kill SystemUIServer if we want - it restarts again.

    Then run "lsof | grep -i flash" again.

    Hopefully it helps with the thread starters problem, otherwise he/she might need to uninstall/reinstall as you suggested.

    TLDR version - open Activity Monitor and quit the SystemUIServer process - it might help.
     
  20. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #20
    Sorry for the long wait. Work took longer than I thought.

    Thank you! The install was successful.
    However, this is similar to my solution I did while back.
    I uninstalled adobe flash and reinstalled which did the trick.
    In this case, it was similar since we deleted the flash files.
    What Im worried is that this problem might persist.

    When I uninstalled flash and did it again, it worked fine for 2 updates.
    After that it started to do the "Close Safari" error.
    Now this maybe asking too much but it is annoying to repeat the "uninstall-reinstall" method.

    I would like to report back if there is another update to share if the problem repeats or not.
    But do you have any idea that it might do? And whats causing it?

    Once again thank you!
     

Share This Page