Macbook Pro and Diablo 3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AlkaFeltser, May 7, 2012.

  1. AlkaFeltser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #1
    Hi everyone. This is not my first stop to just ask. I have searched the web for an answer and can't seem to find one. Below are my MBP's stats and I was curious if anyone knows how the Mac will perform if I run D3 on it. Also, if anyone with similar stats was able to get in on the Beta, I'd love to hear how yours performed. Thanks in advance and sorry if this is a tired question. I'd just rather not waste $60.

    mid-2010 MBP
    OSX 10.6.8 (may upgrade to Lion soon)
    Intel Core 2 Duo (2.4 GHz)
    4 GB Ram (DDR3)
    NVIDIA GeForce 320M
     
  2. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #2
    Would have been better to post in the one of the threads below rather then starting a new one. The answer to your question may well already be there. The biggest issue is going to be the graphics card. I suspect with a 320M it's not going to run all that well and you will probably have to have all the settings on low and a fairly low resolution. Even then you may not get a decent frame rate.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1347704

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1363108
     
  3. Mr.Outside macrumors 6502

    Mr.Outside

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I have the exact same setup as you except I'm running the latest OS. When "Low FX" is checked it runs perfectly. No lagging even in big battles. I know from the open beta. I hope that helps and if you have anymore questions just ask.
     
  4. luke21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    #4
    Help

    I have a Macbook pro as well, purchased in the fall of 2010 :
    10.6.8
    Intel Core 2 Duo (2.53 GHz)
    8 GB RAM (DDR3)
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400 M

    I'm basically running a slide show when it comes to big battles. The framerate is horrible and I have everything set to low. Will I have to buy a new graphics card?

     
  5. wolf86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #5
    Luke you are not able to upgrade a graphics card in a MacBook Pro, you will need to buy a machine with a more current graphics card.

     
  6. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #6
    As already mentioned you can't upgrade the graphics card. This is typically the case for laptops. You would need to upgrade to a newer computer.
     
  7. SuperMatt macrumors 6502

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #7
    I have a mid-2009 17" MBP with the 9600M GT with 512MB of VRAM. It has 4GB of system RAM. Anybody try a similar setup? I'm sure my fans will blow like a tornado, but will I be able to play with decent settings?
     

Share This Page